Quote:
Originally posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
I'm have a hard time understanding why there is still a discussion on the CR.
The rule for the CR is the fielder walking away from the F1 and F2 positions ONLY may have a CR if those players, and only those players, reach base of their own accord the following half inning.
And yes, there is the top of the 1st exception where only the two players who have a 1 and 2 next to their name in the defensive position column have access to a CR if those players reach base of their own accord.
It doesn't make any different whether it is a DP, FLEX or anything else.
This is much like the IFR. The rule stands alone. The use and enforcement don't affect the application of any other rules. (IFR exception: the intentional drop is ignored when the IFR is applied.)
|
One question Mike- I would assume then that the CR is NOT available in which F1 or F2 is the runner that starts at 2B at the time when the tie-breaker comes into effect? I am assuming that because she did not reach that base on 'her own accord'...thanks!
Thanks also for your previous interp on the CR/DP- I actually got a NYSSO clinican AND an ASA Elite ump who are members in our chapter on this!
|
Yes, as long as the last player due to bat in that half inning finished the previous half inning in either the 1 or 2 position.
Clarifying what I mean by "her own accord". A team cannot use a re-entry of F1 & F2 for the purpose of gaining the use of a CR.