The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2025, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Infield fly rule

I wanted to follow up regarding an infield fly rule situation we encountered. We had less than two outs, with runners on first and second. I called the infield fly rule but hesitated briefly to ensure the ball was hit high enough.

As I made the call, the first baseman noticed the ball was going to fall short. Neither the catcher nor the pitcher moved for the ball. Instead, the first baseman ran in, dove, and successfully caught it.

In your opinion, would this situation still qualify as an infield fly rule? I’d appreciate your thoughts on this unusual play.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infield Fly Rule rbmartin Baseball 30 Fri Apr 27, 2012 04:04pm
Infield fly rule Slappy Softball 4 Sat May 31, 2008 09:58am
Infield Fly Rule DSUAUmpire Softball 24 Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:05am
Infield Fly Rule Bandit Softball 13 Mon Dec 15, 2003 01:55pm
Infield Fly Rule lilump03 Baseball 6 Mon Jun 17, 2002 08:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1