The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2025, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Infield fly rule

I wanted to follow up regarding an infield fly rule situation we encountered. We had less than two outs, with runners on first and second. I called the infield fly rule but hesitated briefly to ensure the ball was hit high enough.

As I made the call, the first baseman noticed the ball was going to fall short. Neither the catcher nor the pitcher moved for the ball. Instead, the first baseman ran in, dove, and successfully caught it.

In your opinion, would this situation still qualify as an infield fly rule? I’d appreciate your thoughts on this unusual play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2025, 06:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
Could it of been caught with normal effort at at any point?.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2025, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Pitcher could’ve probably caught it with normal effort
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 14, 2025, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shooter View Post
Pitcher could’ve probably caught it with normal effort
That is what matters, regardless of who did.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2025, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 177
Recently, two IFR situations occurred in games.
1) the batter hit a "bloop" to the pitcher
2) with the infielders playing in, a fly ball was hit to behind F4, who had to half turn and back pedal about 20+ feet, and missed it. The coach wanted it to be an out because it was still "in the infield". I ruled and my partner agreed, not ordinary effort.

Rulings, please?
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2025, 06:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,376
I probably would not have called IF in either case.

Not sure it happened in the second scenario, but I've used the method that if I see the player's jersey number while she's tracking the ball it probably is not "ordinary effort".
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2025, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
Recently, two IFR situations occurred in games.
1) the batter hit a "bloop" to the pitcher
If the pitcher catches the ball, then it doesn't matter. If not, then do the runners have time to think about stopping?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infield Fly Rule rbmartin Baseball 30 Fri Apr 27, 2012 04:04pm
Infield fly rule Slappy Softball 4 Sat May 31, 2008 09:58am
Infield Fly Rule DSUAUmpire Softball 24 Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:05am
Infield Fly Rule Bandit Softball 13 Mon Dec 15, 2003 01:55pm
Infield Fly Rule lilump03 Baseball 6 Mon Jun 17, 2002 08:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1