The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2022, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 75
Hit batter

In high school federation rules, does a hit batter have to take first. 2-2 count and batter is hit by pitch. Doesn’t want to take first base. ????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 14, 2022, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,318
The batter (or coach) has no choice - first base is the award. The ball is dead.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 26, 2022, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
No problem, but won't like the options.

1) If hit batter doesn't take first base, that's abandonment by a runner. Runner is out.
2) If hit batter (whose at-bat is now complete) continues to bat, that person is batting out of order for the following batter. Depending on when it is appealed, the penalty could be a) replaced by correct batter, b) out, or c) legalized.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 27, 2022, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
No problem, but won't like the options.

1) If hit batter doesn't take first base, that's abandonment by a runner. Runner is out.
2) If hit batter (whose at-bat is now complete) continues to bat, that person is batting out of order for the following batter. Depending on when it is appealed, the penalty could be a) replaced by correct batter, b) out, or c) legalized.
Thank you for your thoroughness and reminding us to think.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter Leaves the batter's box & HBP jdmara Baseball 34 Fri Jul 05, 2013 04:14pm
Lead-off Batter = On-Deck Batter? Manny A Softball 14 Thu Apr 11, 2013 11:27am
Fastpitch: Batter's Location in Batter's Box Compared to Plate SoftballGuy247 Softball 43 Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32am
how to catch batter being out of batter's box bniu Softball 28 Fri Jun 26, 2009 09:36pm
How to catch batter being out of batter's box bkbjones Softball 6 Wed Jun 03, 2009 04:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1