The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 57
look back rule

Please confirm:

With one runner, R1 on 3rd, the batter walks. The BR continues to 2nd.

If R1 leaves 3rd while the pitcher has the ball in the circle, not making a play;
R1 is out by Look Back Rule, even if R2 is still running.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 10:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
Please confirm:

With one runner, R1 on 3rd, the batter walks. The BR continues to 2nd.

If R1 leaves 3rd while the pitcher has the ball in the circle, not making a play;
R1 is out by Look Back Rule, even if R2 is still running.
Isn't the BR running a play in progress?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Tue May 03, 2022 at 10:46am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 10:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Isn't the BR running a play in progress?
Not by the pitcher.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecil4 View Post
Please confirm:

With one runner, R1 on 3rd, the batter walks. The BR continues to 2nd.

If R1 leaves 3rd while the pitcher has the ball in the circle, not making a play;
R1 is out by Look Back Rule, even if R2 is still running.
You are correct, sir. Every rules set makes clear that each and every runner has separate responsibility to comply with the LBR. BR legally advancing past first does NOT relieve R1 from the requirements (absent an attempted play by F1). As soon as both conditions are met (ball in circle in F1 control and BR passes 1B), a runner on a base may not then leave it. R1 is out, dead ball, BR must return to 1B.

And, welcome back. I'm not here often, but it's good to hear from the veterans.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,226
Seriously? Softball rules are idiotic if they freeze advances by getting the ball into the circle while advances are still underway. Never mind trying to get runners out or head them off - just stop them by getting the ball into the circle. Seriously?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Seriously? Softball rules are idiotic if they freeze advances by getting the ball into the circle while advances are still underway. Never mind trying to get runners out or head them off - just stop them by getting the ball into the circle. Seriously?
Sure, because everyone prefers the baseball way of continually granting time during live ball play because the defense cannot make a play that stops the offense from playing "dare" endlessly. After all, why create a rule that puts the onus on the offense, rather than continually stopping play to "save" the defense. As the catcher endlessly fakes throws to walk a runner back, then the runner returns. Almost wakes one up from time to time.

Oh, wait, many versions of baseball create such rules. Your scant understanding of softball makes you such a valuable contributor.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 03, 2022, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 57
Thank you for the welcome and both comments, Steve.

My OP is what one of our umpires called, told him it was correct, but sharing it.

A somewhat related real play:

R1 on 3rd, batter walks. No, not the same play.
F2 tries a pickoff of R1, becomes a run down. R1 slides into 3rd, barely safe.
R1 is prone from slide, fielder still holding attempted tag, so R1 asks for and is given time out. Near the end of the run down, R2 realized she should have gone to 2nd; starts and stops, returns to 1st.
Defensive team wants a Look Back out for R2 leaving 1st because the fielder with the ball at the end of the run down was the pitcher. Had to explain about not in the circle.
__________________
Formerly CecilOne
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and Back Rule mikwilmot Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2011 05:31pm
ASA Look Back Rule IRISHMAFIA Softball 34 Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:02pm
Look-Back Rule justmom Softball 2 Sun Apr 30, 2006 07:22am
Look Back Rule BuggBob Softball 7 Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:32am
New ASA Look Back Rule Dakota Softball 17 Thu Nov 08, 2001 10:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1