![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Yeah, so, nothing I said contradicts that.
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The only thing that can't happen if the runner is obstructed BETWEEN bases is that they be put out. The umpire needs to either grant them the next base or send them back to the previous one.
Well, if a runner commits an act of interference (following OBS), she will be called out. If the runner passes another runner (following OBS), she will be called out. Even though obstructed, she must otherwise run the bases legally.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
The point that I was trying to make is that both umpires did not apply the rule(s) properly, because they did not even know what OBS is, as they only used the word interference. No obstruction was ever called nor referred to. And their ruling/decision clearly showed that neither one of the pair knew how to recognize, nor apply the OBS rule. And these are both well-experienced USA Umpires working an NFHS game.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
USA & NFHS are probably 96% the same in terms of rules and 100% the same for mechanics.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
As above, the rule and mechanics are the same. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" | teebob21 | Softball | 15 | Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm |
| Is "the patient whistle" and "possession consequence" ruining the game? | fiasco | Basketball | 46 | Fri Dec 02, 2011 08:43am |
| "Dead ball, personal foul, fair catch interference..." | BktBallRef | Football | 4 | Sun Aug 28, 2011 08:36pm |
| Properly noting a "benched" defensive player | wadeintothem | Softball | 28 | Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:05pm |
| Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... | jcwells | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm |