The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 25, 2020, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
If/int

R1 on 2; R2 on 2B with 1 out, B3 hits a
high pop up near first base line in the infield. Infield fly is called.
As F3 is about to catch the infield fly, R2 runs into F3. The ball lands in
fair territory and then bounces foul where it is finally touched.

At TOI, ball was fair. Is batter out as well?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2020, 06:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
The status of the ball, fair/foul is determined by the balls position at the time of the interference/dead ball call. If it is over fair territory, it is a fair ball and still and infield fly. Both the runner committing interference and the batter/runner are out.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2020, 06:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
What would you do with the batter if she had hit a ground ball that hit a runner before passing an infielder?

For USA Softball: 8.7.J. 3 Effect F (I think this answers the question from the OP from this sanction.)
Isn't it 8.7.J.1 rather than 3.
And yes, the rule says award the batter 1st.
But, by rule in Definitions, it becomes a fair ball if over fair territory when the interference occurs.

So, I was on the wrong track, and RKBump is correct. I have deleted my earlier posts, so please delete your posts that quote it.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2020, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
From USA plays and clarifications:

Since the definition of an infield fly states A fair fly ball, not including a line drive or an attempted bunt, which can be caught by an infielder, pitcher or catcher with ordinary effort when first and second or first, second and third bases are occupied with less than two outs, a batter is not out until the ball has been determined to be fair. In this play, by rule the interference happened while the ball was over fair ball territory. Rule 1 Definition of a fair ball letter D states; A legally batted ball that while over fair territory, an offensive player interferes with a defensive player at*tempting to field a batted ball. The ball now becomes fair and the batter is out on the infield fly.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 26, 2020, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Isn't it 8.7.J.1 rather than 3.
And yes, the rule says award the batter 1st.
But, by rule in Definitions, it becomes a fair ball if over fair territory when the interference occurs.

So, I was on the wrong track, and RKBump is correct. I have deleted my earlier posts, so please delete your posts that quote it.
Yes, J.1 vs J.3.

So does this become another of the differences between NFHS and USA? NFHS does not include "D" from the USA definition.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Wed Feb 26, 2020 at 08:38am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1