The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 637
WS: Out of the Running Lane

I know we don't discuss the other sport here, but any comments about the last night's call (besides A-Rod's an idiot)?

https://youtu.be/vos0zr_KkNQ
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 09:32am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I know we don't discuss the other sport here, but any comments about the last night's call (besides A-Rod's an idiot)?

https://youtu.be/vos0zr_KkNQ
Correct call by pro rules. A BR is allowed to exit the lane for the last step in order to touch first base as an exception to the runner's lane rule. But that last-step exception does NOT apply to a BR who runs the whole way to first outside the lane.

That's exactly what Turner did. He never entered the lane, so his being outside of it for that last step to touch the bag would not be allowed. If he ran to first in the lane and then stepped out for that last step before touching first, his hindering Gurriel at first base would not be a violation.

By the way, NCAA Softball has this same stipulation. Here's a play from the NCAA casebook:

Quote:
A.R. 12-46. A slap bunt results in the ball quickly being scooped up by the catcher right in front of home plate. The catcher is ready to throw, but seeing the batter-runner in her way with one or both feet out of the runner's lane, she hesitates, eventually throwing accurately to first base but the throw:
(1) arrives late.
(2) hits the batter-runner two strides before the base.
(3) hits the batter-runner on her last stride before the base.
RULING: In (1), the batter-runner has not interfered if a fielder does not throw or hesitates before throwing. For interference to apply, the batter-runner must be guilty of interfering with the fielder taking the throw at first base. If the fielder does not throw, hesitates and then throws late, or makes an errant throw, it is not possible to determine if the fielder taking the throw would have been interfered with. For example, if the catcher throws the ball three feet above the outstretched glove of the first baseman, the batter-runner will be safe by virtue of the throwing error, not because of interference with the first baseman taking a throw.
In (2) and (3) the batter-runner is out because she interfered with the first baseman taking the throw at first base. In (3), the rule allows the batter-runner to leave the lane on her last stride in order to touch first base. If she has not been running in the runner's lane, this would not apply since she cannot leave the lane if she was not in the lane.
"3" is what Turner did, and we would need to make that same call in college softball play.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Correct call by pro rules. A BR is allowed to exit the lane for the last step in order to touch first base as an exception to the runner's lane rule. But that last-step exception does NOT apply to a BR who runs the whole way to first outside the lane.
Exactly my thoughts. Here is the rule from OBR:
5.09 Making an out
(a) Retiring the batter
11) In running the last half of the distance from home base to
first base, while the ball is being fielded to first base, he
runs outside (to the right of ) the three-foot line, or inside
(to the left of ) the foul line, and in the umpire’s judgment
in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at
first base, in which case the ball is dead; except that he
may run outside (to the right of ) the three-foot line or
inside (to the left of ) the foul line to avoid a fielder
attempting to field a batted ball;

Rule 5.09 (a)(11) Comment:
The lines marking the three-foot
lane are a part of that lane and a batter-runner is required to
have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines mark-
ing the lane. The batter-runner is permitted to exit the three-
foot lane by means of a step, stride, reach or slide in the imme-
diate vicinity of first base for the sole purpose of touching first
base.
The talking heads and most of the youtube sheep don't understand.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 637
Thank you. the announcer (don't know who it was), really really wanted to side with the Nationals on this, and just couldn't bring himself to say outright that the PU got it right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Lane mccann Softball 17 Mon Oct 03, 2016 01:29pm
Running lane? roadking Softball 6 Mon Oct 03, 2011 08:15am
Running lane grimjack5150 Softball 7 Sat May 10, 2008 10:51pm
The Running Lane tcblue13 Softball 21 Sun Jul 15, 2007 01:46pm
Running Lane Bandit Softball 2 Wed Apr 11, 2001 10:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1