The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 19, 2003, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
"The only correct ruling I can imagine would be if they ruled R1 had not yet reached 2B"

But, the situation presented by Dukat had R1 starting on 2B. Maybe she was going back, thinking the ball had been caught, but at a minimum she was already at 2B so there could not be two runners between the same bases at the time of the throw.

BTW - both the NFHS casebook and ASA POE37 are going to give you the same interpretation that only the lead runner can be advanced two bases (when two runners are between the same bases).

IMO, the umpires were wrong - at least as far as is known based on what Dukat told us. The only time that ONE base is awarded is when a fielder loses possession of the ball to DBT. That could happen if F3 caught the ball from F1 and swung her glove at the BR - and lost the ball into DBT. It would be a real stretch to suggest that F1 "lost possession" of the ball when she threw it into the dugout.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1