The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2019, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
When a batter receives a base on balls, and the ball is in the circle, any other baserunners may be off their respective bases until the walked batter touches 1B, at which time they must return non-stop to their base, or proceed non-stop to the next base.

If a baserunner is already standing on her base when the walked batter touches 1B, that baserunner may not leave the base.

The walked batter may round 1B and proceed any distance toward 2B. She is entitled to her 1 stop between the bases, after which she must return non-stop to 1B or proceed non-stop to 2B.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2019, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
When a batter receives a base on balls, and the ball is in the circle, any other baserunners may be off their respective bases until the walked batter touches 1B, at which time they must return non-stop to their base, or proceed non-stop to the next base.

If a baserunner is already standing on her base when the walked batter touches 1B, that baserunner may not leave the base.

The walked batter may round 1B and proceed any distance toward 2B. She is entitled to her 1 stop between the bases, after which she must return non-stop to 1B or proceed non-stop to 2B.
Hitting 3 nails on the head all at once.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 10, 2019, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
When a batter receives a base on balls, and the ball is in the circle, any other baserunners may be off their respective bases until the walked batter touches 1B, at which time they must return non-stop to their base, or proceed non-stop to the next base.

If a baserunner is already standing on her base when the walked batter touches 1B, that baserunner may not leave the base.

The walked batter may round 1B and proceed any distance toward 2B. She is entitled to her 1 stop between the bases, after which she must return non-stop to 1B or proceed non-stop to 2B.
All of this is true with ONE and only one caveat -- In PGF, playing under NFHS rules, the following (rare) rule comes into play: NFHS 8-7-4:

Responsibilities of a batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:

a) A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but must then immediately, without stopping, return to first or attempt to advance to second base.
b) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and immediately stops, must then return non-stop to first or attempt to advance to second base.
c) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and moves directly toward second base and stops is committed to second and must attempt to advance non-stop to second base.
d) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and moves back toward the infield in any direction except directly toward second base is committed to first and must return to first base.
e) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right, is committed to first base and must return to first base.

PENALTY: The ball is dead. "No Pitch" is declared when applicable, and the runner is out. (continues with LBR rule)

I post this, because this is the ONLY TIME, in any code to my knowledge, where it actually matters what direction the BR turns after passing 1B. The ball has to be in the circle, and following that the BR has to over-run 1B.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Tue Jun 11, 2019 at 12:22pm. Reason: corrected a typo
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2019, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
All of this is true with ONE and only one caveat -- In PGF, playing under NFHS rules, the following (rare) rule comes into play: NFHS 8-7-4:

Responsibilities of a batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:

a) A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but must then immediately, without stopping, return to first or attempt to advance to second base.
b) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and immediately stops, must then return non-stop to first or attempt to advance to second base.
c) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and moves directly toward second base and stops is committed to second and must attempt to advance non-stop to second base.
d) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and moves back toward the infield in any direction except directly toward second based is committed to first and must return to second base.
e) A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right, is committed to first base and must return to first base.

PENALTY: The ball is dead. "No Pitch" is declared when applicable, and the runner is out. (continues with LBR rule)

I post this, because this is the ONLY TIME, in any code to my knowledge, where it actually matters what direction the BR turns after passing 1B. The ball has to be in the circle, and following that the BR has to over-run 1B.
Hey TB, I don't know if you copy/pasted the above or you typed it in.

Can you confirm the wording I colored in RED above?

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2019, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Hey TB, I don't know if you copy/pasted the above or you typed it in.

Can you confirm the wording I colored in RED above?

Thanx.
It would be "first".
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2019, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Hey TB, I don't know if you copy/pasted the above or you typed it in.

Can you confirm the wording I colored in RED above?

Thanx.
I typed it. I typo'd it.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2019, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Not that rare for me unfortunately... I have to enforce 8.7.T (i believe that's what it is in USA) at least twice a season... usually a perfectly laid-down bunt that they just toss to the pitcher without making a play on BR... BR blasts through 1B, trots back and decides to break for 2B...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 11:11am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Not that rare for me unfortunately... I have to enforce 8.7.T (i believe that's what it is in USA) at least twice a season... usually a perfectly laid-down bunt that they just toss to the pitcher without making a play on BR... BR blasts through 1B, trots back and decides to break for 2B...
So in this scenario, does it matter what happens first? In other words:

A. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle before the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

B. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle after the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

I'm sure that for "A", the BR would be out if she's heading towards first and then makes a break for second. But if the BR is already heading towards first and then the ball goes into the circle, doesn't the BR still have her one stop to make and then continue to first or head to second?

I must admit, I made this call during a HS playoff game last month. BR overran first as she easily beat out a bunt, turned right to come back, and then I saw the first base coach look over at the third base coach for a signal. The ball was in the circle, so I continued to watch what was going to happen. First base coach said something to the BR, and the BR continued to the bag, stopped short of it, then took off for second. I called Dead Ball and rang her up.

Third base coach came over to me and asked why I made that call, and I told her once the ball is in the circle and the BR is heading back toward first base, she's committed there and cannot take off for second. She replied that as long as the BR doesn't go all the way back to and touch first base, she can take off for second. I told her that was the college rule, but not the high school rule. She said her team had been executing that play all regular season, and I was the first to make the call. I told her to read the LBR in the book about the BR's responsibilities when she overruns first base. She said she would and get back to me. She never did.

But as I thought about it later on, I wondered if I should've noted the timing between when the ball entered the circle and when the BR made her turn at first to come back. I didn't notice it during the game, and I think it makes a difference.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So in this scenario, does it matter what happens first? In other words:

A. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle before the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

B. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle after the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

I'm sure that for "A", the BR would be out if she's heading towards first and then makes a break for second. But if the BR is already heading towards first and then the ball goes into the circle, doesn't the BR still have her one stop to make and then continue to first or head to second?



But as I thought about it later on, I wondered if I should've noted the timing between when the ball entered the circle and when the BR made her turn at first to come back. I didn't notice it during the game, and I think it makes a difference.
The book says the runner's responsibilities are "while the pitcher has control ..."
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 5-1-1: Bizarre state rule interpretation? WestCoaster Football 23 Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:04pm
hesitation JohnDorian37 Baseball 10 Mon May 16, 2011 01:34pm
Can a "hesitation" Be Legal? Spence Baseball 2 Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:40am
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Hesitation sprivitor Softball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1