The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 19, 2019, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
The interpretation I've heard is that a change of direction is considered a "stop".

Because if you're going one way, you have to "stop" going that way to go a different way.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 20, 2019, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
The interpretation I've heard is that a change of direction is considered a "stop".

Because if you're going one way, you have to "stop" going that way to go a different way.
Andy, I'll take this to it's logical extreme....what about a "loop"? A runner could turn all the way around back to 1B by running in a short circle without stopping, then proceed in the direction of 2B by curling the other way, again without stopping.

In this TWP situation, I'm going to judge an attempt to advance towards a particular base (and commitment to that base) when the runner is headed in that direction, but by rule if I run figure-eights all the way to 2B, have I ever stopped??
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 20, 2019, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Andy, I'll take this to it's logical extreme....what about a "loop"? A runner could turn all the way around back to 1B by running in a short circle without stopping, then proceed in the direction of 2B by curling the other way, again without stopping.

In this TWP situation, I'm going to judge an attempt to advance towards a particular base (and commitment to that base) when the runner is headed in that direction, but by rule if I run figure-eights all the way to 2B, have I ever stopped??
Actually, I don't find that to be TWP-ish at all. Lots of runners make that little loop - probably not all the way to 2B, but in rounding the bag at first.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 20, 2019, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
All this over an unnecessary rule
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 21, 2019, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
USA always had it pretty well spelled out (covering all the bases, as it were)...

turns right- committed to 1B
turns left & heads directly to 1B- committed to 1B.
turns left & heads directly to 2B- committed to 2B.
turns left & heads any direction except directly to 2B- committed to 1B.
(that's the one I think I see most often...)
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 21, 2019, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
USA always had it pretty well spelled out (covering all the bases, as it were)...

turns right- committed to 1B
turns left & heads directly to 1B- committed to 1B.
turns left & heads directly to 2B- committed to 2B.
turns left & heads any direction except directly to 2B- committed to 1B.
(that's the one I think I see most often...)
And even there, the second and fourth clause are redundant. I teach it as
turns right- committed to 1B
turns left
- heads directly to 2B- committed to 2B.
- heads any direction except to 2B- committed to 1B.
I also clarify the difference between overrunning and rounding.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 5-1-1: Bizarre state rule interpretation? WestCoaster Football 23 Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:04pm
hesitation JohnDorian37 Baseball 10 Mon May 16, 2011 01:34pm
Can a "hesitation" Be Legal? Spence Baseball 2 Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:40am
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Hesitation sprivitor Softball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1