The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 23, 2019, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 142
nsa slow pitch

nsa slow pitch 12"
Situation:
(playing auto out , if playing short-handed).
One out, runner on third, #9 batting, (#10 would be the auto out).
Fly ball to F8, that's caught. Can runner from third tag up and attempt to score? Or is inning over because of the auto out on the next batter?
When exactly does the third out take effect?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2019, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
I don't know about Non Standard Anachronism (here); but is USA or NFHS, the at bat of #9 would be fully completed and the auto out takes place when the #10 is due to be up.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2019, 05:09pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I don't know about Non Standard Anachronism (here); but is USA or NFHS, the at bat of #9 would be fully completed and the auto out takes place when the #10 is due to be up.
Cecil are you saying that the runner could not tag up after the fly out???
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 24, 2019, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
Cecil are you saying that the runner could not tag up after the fly out???
No, just the opposite.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 25, 2019, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbman View Post
nsa slow pitch 12"
Situation:
(playing auto out , if playing short-handed).
One out, runner on third, #9 batting, (#10 would be the auto out).
Fly ball to F8, that's caught. Can runner from third tag up and attempt to score? Or is inning over because of the auto out on the next batter?
When exactly does the third out take effect?
Thanks
I don't do NSA, but I would say that the auto-out would not occur until all playing action from #9's at bat ends and #10 should be entering the batters box. So yes, the tag up is absolutely legal and is the smart play in that situation.

I know in the wRECk leagues I work teams that will have the auto-out will keep the runners running to get the third out on the bases or try scoring the run, rather than having the third out be the auto-out. If puts pressure on the defense to actually make an out on the bases rather than have auto-out end the inning.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 26, 2019, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
I don't do NSA, but I would say that the auto-out would not occur until all playing action from #9's at bat ends and #10 should be entering the batters box. So yes, the tag up is absolutely legal and is the smart play in that situation.

I know in the wRECk leagues I work teams that will have the auto-out will keep the runners running to get the third out on the bases or try scoring the run, rather than having the third out be the auto-out. If puts pressure on the defense to actually make an out on the bases rather than have auto-out end the inning.
Yeah, pretty stupid and I've told them so. Just increases the chances of starting the next inning with an out
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 26, 2019, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Yeah, pretty stupid and I've told them so. Just increases the chances of starting the next inning with an out
The issue is if they want to start an inning with an out or end an inning with an out. Depending on the situation, the desire might be different. For example, if a runner is on third and tries coming home on a fly out (or pop out/ground out, ect for the second out) he/she puts the pressure on the defense to get the third out. If they get the run home, they've picked up a run and then get the out. And the third out becomes the automatic out. If they don't try to get the run home, they end the inning with a runner on the bases that has no chance of scoring.

The one downside would be if the runner does get thrown out, you still start with an out to start the next inning.

What's really fun is when the runner becomes the winning run in the last inning, knowing if he doesn't score, the game goes another inning.

I watch a girl (batter) in our WrecK league score a running knowing the automatic out was after her. She hit a bloop single to center that dropped for a single. CF tries throwing her out at first and over throws it. F3 then overthrows second and the ball goes to the outfield. She rounds third and the throw to the pitcher covering the plate is about 10 feet over his head, so she scored. I think it would be ruled a single with an error on the CF, an error on the first baseman, and another error on the CF who over threw the plate.

Nobody said this was good ball I was umpiring. It's better than a winning run scoring on a dropped third strike when the batter runner scores the winning run. That happened in Montana IIRC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of a slow pitch bat in a fast pitch game shanning Softball 8 Mon May 22, 2017 12:47am
ASA Slow Pitch/Fast Pitch Rules Differences IRISHMAFIA Softball 8 Fri Jan 13, 2012 07:27pm
ASA Slow Pitch -- Legal Pitch?? gdc25 Softball 1 Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:22pm
Bats: Slow-pitch v. Fast-pitch Blu_IN Softball 3 Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:12pm
Slow Pitch, Fast Pitch, Baseball...they are all the same... Bandit Softball 5 Mon Jun 14, 2004 07:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1