The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2018, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 118
Foul or Interference?

This is a case from the 2012 ASA (USA) Case Book

B1 hits a ground ball toward 1B. The batted ball comes in contact with B1 over fair territory, while advancing to 1B. The touching is (a) intentional, (b) accidental while the ball is over fair ground, or (c) accidental while the ball is over foul ground and before the ball has reached 1B.
RULING: In (a) and (b) it is interference and B1 is called out. In (c) it is a foul ball because contact is over foul ground. (1-INTERFERENCE; 8-2F)

My question is related to situation (c).

Suppose the ball was still spinning and had potential to come back fair AND the B1 contact was not accidental. B1 sees the ball in foul territory and bends down to pick it up, but the ball was still in motion.

Is this now just a foul ball or do we have interference because the ball was still live and the contact was intentional.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2018, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
This is a case from the 2012 ASA (USA) Case Book

B1 hits a ground ball toward 1B. The batted ball comes in contact with B1 over fair territory, while advancing to 1B. The touching is (a) intentional, (b) accidental while the ball is over fair ground, or (c) accidental while the ball is over foul ground and before the ball has reached 1B.
RULING: In (a) and (b) it is interference and B1 is called out. In (c) it is a foul ball because contact is over foul ground. (1-INTERFERENCE; 8-2F)

My question is related to situation (c).

Suppose the ball was still spinning and had potential to come back fair AND the B1 contact was not accidental. B1 sees the ball in foul territory and bends down to pick it up, but the ball was still in motion.

Is this now just a foul ball or do we have interference because the ball was still live and the contact was intentional.

Thanks
foul ball for the reason noted
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 06, 2018, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 118
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference by R1 on foul fly? falsecut Softball 6 Sat May 20, 2017 05:06pm
Interference on pop up foul Insane Blue Softball 25 Thu Apr 23, 2015 04:41pm
Interference - Foul fly Zepp Softball 10 Tue May 28, 2013 01:37pm
Interference with foul fly MD Longhorn Softball 2 Mon May 21, 2012 02:49pm
Foul interference? Shmuelg Baseball 12 Tue Jun 26, 2007 06:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1