![]() |
|
|
|||
How to rule on plays
This play is in the USA Softball August Plays and Clarifications.
"Play: R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B and both attempt to steal on the pitch to B3. The pitch is called a strike and F2 throws to 3B from the set position. B3 a) does not move and is watching R2 steal 2B b) moves to get out of the way of the thrown ball. In both a) and b) the ball hits B3 on the side of the helmet and rolls into the dugout for a dead ball. What is the ruling? Ruling: In both a) and b) the umpire must judge if B3 actively hindered F2 from making a play. Just being hit by the thrown ball does not constitute interference. If the umpire judges that B3 actively hindered F3 then we have a dead ball and interference, B3 is out and all runners return to the last base touched at the time of the interference. Rule 7, Section 6S Effect." The ruling wording implies that "does not move and is watching R2" might still be interference without giving any criteria for determining "actively hindered". As clarification, I would have said something like "if the batter moved from their normal stance" or, in the case of a swing, "if the batter moved after completing the swing and recovering". Do you agree that the ruling needs more clarity?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Three plays | AremRed | Basketball | 8 | Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:16am |
ASA - June Rule Clarifications and Plays | NCASAUmp | Softball | 1 | Wed Jun 15, 2011 02:27pm |
May ASA Rule Clarifications and Plays | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 11 | Sun May 10, 2009 09:58pm |
Two KCI plays | OverAndBack | Football | 5 | Mon Oct 06, 2008 03:28pm |
How would you rule on these plays. | gordon30307 | Baseball | 45 | Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:28am |