The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2018, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,287
no throw interference

We often say a throw is required for interference on a play like that below.
Is the physical contact the difference, or the "arm is up", or is that not really a basis for a call?

"Play: R1 on second base, no outs. B2 at bat with a 3 ball no strike count. The pitch to B2 is in the dirt and F2 did not field it cleanly. The Plate Umpire gave a verbal ball four. The ball rolls out in front of the batter's box about four feet. The batter steps out of the box and turns to discard their bat, and then turns to go to 1B. F2 now has the ball and is positioning herself to throw (arm is up) to F5 in an attempt to retire R1 stealing third when B2 runs into F2. No throw was made. Is this interference?

Ruling: Yes, even though the B2 was awarded first base on the walk, B2 is out for interference for hindering F3ís attempt to throw the ball. (Rule 1 Interference, Rule 8, Section 2F2)
"
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2018, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
We often say a throw is required for interference on a play like that below.
Is the physical contact the difference, or the "arm is up", or is that not really a basis for a call?

"Play: R1 on second base, no outs. B2 at bat with a 3 ball no strike count. The pitch to B2 is in the dirt and F2 did not field it cleanly. The Plate Umpire gave a verbal ball four. The ball rolls out in front of the batter's box about four feet. The batter steps out of the box and turns to discard their bat, and then turns to go to 1B. F2 now has the ball and is positioning herself to throw (arm is up) to F5 in an attempt to retire R1 stealing third when B2 runs into F2. No throw was made. Is this interference?

Ruling: Yes, even though the B2 was awarded first base on the walk, B2 is out for interference for hindering F3ís attempt to throw the ball. (Rule 1 Interference, Rule 8, Section 2F2)
"
Does an umpire have time to count the steps of the throw, or is it one fluid motion where the arm is coming forward almost as soon as you realize the catcher cocked it?

IMO if the catcher stops in such a position, I'd have to take into consideration whether she actually had a play to retire the runner or was just going through the motions like a good little catcher should
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2018, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Does an umpire have time to count the steps of the throw, or is it one fluid motion where the arm is coming forward almost as soon as you realize the catcher cocked it?

IMO if the catcher stops in such a position, I'd have to take into consideration whether she actually had a play to retire the runner or was just going through the motions like a good little catcher should
I believe I have read some plays that indicate the runner or batter-runner (depending on the situation) should be called out if the runner has not yet reached the base where the play was - not whether you believe the runner would have been out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
runner interference on throw rbmartin Softball 14 Thu May 16, 2013 06:12pm
No Throw - No Interference? WestMichBlue Softball 2 Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:32pm
ncaa Basket interference on throw in??? jritchie Basketball 6 Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:54am
Goaltending and Basket Interference on a Throw in RdBallRef Basketball 8 Fri Oct 12, 2001 01:23pm
What's the call - umpire interference with throw Rich Ives Baseball 2 Wed May 09, 2001 11:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1