The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post


I believe the overrun clauses are in effect even w/o the LBR being in effect.
I think I would have to disagree with you. 8-7-1 states that for the LBR to be in effect that the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and the pitcher has possession of the ball within the pitcher's circle.

The restrictions of the batter-runner rounding 1B in 8-7-4 are all a part of the LBR, and it even specifically states "Responsibilities of the batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:"

So if F1 does not have the ball within the circle when the batter-runner rounds 1B the LBR is not in effect so none of 8-7-4 applies to them at that point.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NevadaRef: NFHS 2007-08 Rules Interpretation - Situation 10. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 2 Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:42am
NFHS Interpretation #3 BigUmp56 Baseball 8 Thu Feb 09, 2006 03:10pm
NFHS Interpretation #10 Blue37 Baseball 3 Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:15pm
NFHS interpretation David Emerling Baseball 32 Fri Jan 28, 2005 07:31pm
NFHS interpretation # 8 oc Basketball 7 Mon Oct 27, 2003 03:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1