The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 15, 2018, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
NFHS-- I have tried to find this situation in the rule book with no luck. The "Look-Back Rule" section does cover similar situations but the Look Back was not in play here. Comments?
I know you asked about NFHS which i am not very familiar with. In USA book there is a rule 8.8.I that I think covers this. THE RUNNER IS NOT OUT When a batter runner overruns 1st base after touching it and returns directly to the base.

Your runner overran 1st and returned directly. The USA book does not limit turning right or left in this case. (In the Look-back rule there are some limitations attached to the turning direction.) There is a little more (very little more) in the USA appeals section of the Rule Supplements.

Actually I just looked this up in my old 2015 Fed book and it is there also. Page 71. 8.8 Article 9.

Last edited by josephrt1; Mon Apr 16, 2018 at 01:07am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turn left then... Little Jimmy Softball 13 Wed Apr 18, 2018 04:32pm
Jump turn to 1B/Throw to unoccupied base johnnyg08 Baseball 17 Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:34pm
Base left too soon. Illini_Ref Baseball 19 Sat May 19, 2007 07:57pm
1st Base turn question sm_bbcoach Baseball 4 Sun Jun 19, 2005 08:16pm
Touching First Base While Holding The Bat LLUmpire Baseball 8 Fri Apr 01, 2005 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1