![]() |
|
|||
|
Next one up for discussion:
41) In a Fast Pitch game, the pitcher reaches down and places her fingers/hand in the dirt around the pitching plate and does not wipe the fingers/hand off before bringing them in contact with the ball. U3 calls an illegal pitch and explains to the pitcher and their coach that it is illegal to place a foreign substance on the ball. The offensive coach protests that this is a misapplication of the rule as dirt is not a foreign substance. What is the proper ruling? a. Dirt is a foreign substance, so the illegal pitch is upheld. b. The pitcher is warned if they apply a foreign substance to the ball again they will be ejected. c. The illegal pitch call is reversed, as dirt is not considered a foreign substance. d. Both a. and b. are correct. I know the answer to this question, but cannot find the specific reference in the rules book. It was addressed in the March, 2010 Rules & Clarifications. Any tips?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2009 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 31 | Wed Aug 05, 2009 08:22pm |
| 2009 ASA Umpire Exam | Skahtboi | Softball | 7 | Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:34pm |
| 2008 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 12 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:44pm |
| 2007 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 0 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 06:27pm |
| passing grade on ASA umpire exam | mbeasler | Softball | 6 | Wed Mar 01, 2006 04:27pm |