![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, without 2018 manuals yet, we don't know if the start position was changed. If it was, the test question becomes false. If not, it is true for SP, false for FP, so don't know how to answer.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
The fact that the question is about offering an option would make lead me to believe it false for all games
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Dec 16, 2017 at 03:24pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So I'd say the statement would have to be false because it would depend upon what game is being worked. If slow, off the line; if fast walk the line. In fact, if the question was placed in either of the alternative slow pitch or fast pitch sections, it would still have to be false. Umpires do not have a choice, you go to the spot based on which game you're working.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
I just took a quick look at the 2017 manual...two umpire system, in either game, there is no option for the base umpire with no runners on base.
FP starts on the line, SP starts behind F4. I don't know if there was discussion about presenting an option at the council meeting, but I can check with some of my sources to see what I can find out. There has been talk for the last few years about moving the SP base umpire back to the line with no runners on, but it has not been implemented. I also remember about 10 - 15 years ago, a former NUS member was advocating giving the FP base umpire the option to start behind F4 with no runners, but was never able to get much support.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Next one up for discussion:
41) In a Fast Pitch game, the pitcher reaches down and places her fingers/hand in the dirt around the pitching plate and does not wipe the fingers/hand off before bringing them in contact with the ball. U3 calls an illegal pitch and explains to the pitcher and their coach that it is illegal to place a foreign substance on the ball. The offensive coach protests that this is a misapplication of the rule as dirt is not a foreign substance. What is the proper ruling? a. Dirt is a foreign substance, so the illegal pitch is upheld. b. The pitcher is warned if they apply a foreign substance to the ball again they will be ejected. c. The illegal pitch call is reversed, as dirt is not considered a foreign substance. d. Both a. and b. are correct. I know the answer to this question, but cannot find the specific reference in the rules book. It was addressed in the March, 2010 Rules & Clarifications. Any tips?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2009 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 31 | Wed Aug 05, 2009 08:22pm |
| 2009 ASA Umpire Exam | Skahtboi | Softball | 7 | Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:34pm |
| 2008 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 12 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:44pm |
| 2007 ASA Umpire Exam | SRW | Softball | 0 | Wed Jan 03, 2007 06:27pm |
| passing grade on ASA umpire exam | mbeasler | Softball | 6 | Wed Mar 01, 2006 04:27pm |