![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Agree. That's why I said I think it's clear in NCAA play. My question was really focused on NFHS, and any other organizations that use single-first base bags.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
|
NFHS covers this in 8-2-6. That language is different, and does not provide for a last-step exemption, but I think the interpretation is the same: run IN the lane, interfere at the bag = no call. Run OUT of the lane, interfere at the bag = dead ball, BR out for INT, runners return to last touched base.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
And it is also being out of the lane at the moment of INT, not necessarily the entire length.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
At that moment does the foot have to be touching the ground outside the lane?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Neither the ASA nor NFHS rule have that implication. |
|
|||
|
A couple related questions, please:
1. USA has always interpreted the lane as extending vertically on both sides, meaning that both feet can be entirely within the lines while upper body part(s) can still extend beyond, potentially causing interference. It's been discussed and concurred on this forum. Question: Does NCAA interpret this the same way? 2. Again NCAA, due to the absence of the double base, is the B/R allowed to run in fair territory, without fear of an INT call, if fielder sets up foul to take a throw from foul ground and BR still gets plunked? 3. Again NCAA, is running lane INT enforced TOP or TOT? Does R1 from 3B, crossing the plate right after the bunt and well before the INT, have to return? (This I can find myself, but I don't have my book) Last edited by jmkupka; Wed Oct 04, 2017 at 09:16am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Lane Violation Question | jhc2010 | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 03, 2014 05:54pm |
| Running Lane Question? | Robert E. Harrison | Baseball | 38 | Fri Apr 04, 2008 08:52am |
| Batter/Runner Outside Running Lane | blueump | Baseball | 8 | Sun Apr 16, 2006 09:03am |
| FT Lane Question... | JohnBark | Basketball | 1 | Sun Feb 15, 2004 08:23pm |
| Another FT Lane Question | Hawks Coach | Basketball | 16 | Thu Jan 09, 2003 06:42pm |