The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 10, 2017, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Concepts and thought process:

A batted ball which clears the home run fence in flight over fair territory is a 4 base award (home run). A batted ball which bounds (or is otherwise grounded) over the home run fence in fair territory is a 2 base award.

A batted ball remains in flight until it touches the ground, or another object which "grounds" it.

When a batted ball hits the top of a permanent fence and bounds over, it remains in flight and a home run; thus the fence by itself does not ground the ball. Equally, the defensive player alone does not ground the ball. Only a ball which hits the fence THEN the defensive player is grounded.

Every major rule set addresses a displaced temporary fence. In USA/ASA, it remains part of live ball territory (so far, "in the park"); in NCAA and NFHS, it is a home run if already beyond the base of the fence (home run line).

Conclusion:

Nothing in the OP resulted in the ball being grounded, so by definition it must be in flight. Result stated in first paragraph.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2017, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Concepts and thought process:

A batted ball which clears the home run fence in flight over fair territory is a 4 base award (home run). A batted ball which bounds (or is otherwise grounded) over the home run fence in fair territory is a 2 base award.

A batted ball remains in flight until it touches the ground, or another object which "grounds" it.

When a batted ball hits the top of a permanent fence and bounds over, it remains in flight and a home run; thus the fence by itself does not ground the ball. Equally, the defensive player alone does not ground the ball. Only a ball which hits the fence THEN the defensive player is grounded.

Every major rule set addresses a displaced temporary fence. In USA/ASA, it remains part of live ball territory (so far, "in the park"); in NCAA and NFHS, it is a home run if already beyond the base of the fence (home run line).

Conclusion:

Nothing in the OP resulted in the ball being grounded, so by definition it must be in flight. Result stated in first paragraph.
Just nitpicking, but I believe something that should be noted since I do not know who is ready this, a ball which touches the fence or wall, temporary or otherwise is no longer "in flight" since that is a term which can be/is construed as a batted ball still available to be legally caught to retire the B/BR.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this a Home Run agr8zebra Softball 18 Mon May 30, 2016 12:46pm
Don't try this at home! mbyron Baseball 2 Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:00am
Home run or not? Rita C Baseball 9 Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:17am
Home Run or? jimpiano Baseball 19 Wed Aug 22, 2007 05:16pm
Out on a home run? mastdk96 Softball 9 Thu May 26, 2005 04:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1