![]() |
|
|||
Concepts and thought process:
A batted ball which clears the home run fence in flight over fair territory is a 4 base award (home run). A batted ball which bounds (or is otherwise grounded) over the home run fence in fair territory is a 2 base award. A batted ball remains in flight until it touches the ground, or another object which "grounds" it. When a batted ball hits the top of a permanent fence and bounds over, it remains in flight and a home run; thus the fence by itself does not ground the ball. Equally, the defensive player alone does not ground the ball. Only a ball which hits the fence THEN the defensive player is grounded. Every major rule set addresses a displaced temporary fence. In USA/ASA, it remains part of live ball territory (so far, "in the park"); in NCAA and NFHS, it is a home run if already beyond the base of the fence (home run line). Conclusion: Nothing in the OP resulted in the ball being grounded, so by definition it must be in flight. Result stated in first paragraph.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is this a Home Run | agr8zebra | Softball | 18 | Mon May 30, 2016 12:46pm |
Don't try this at home! | mbyron | Baseball | 2 | Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:00am |
Home run or not? | Rita C | Baseball | 9 | Sun Sep 11, 2011 12:17am |
Home Run or? | jimpiano | Baseball | 19 | Wed Aug 22, 2007 05:16pm |
Out on a home run? | mastdk96 | Softball | 9 | Thu May 26, 2005 04:37pm |