The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 04, 2003, 10:41pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Well, Maybe the horse aint dead yet.

8-7-T-3a, may seem contradictory with POE statement;
If a runner is moving towards a base, other than first base, when the pitcher recieves the ball in the circle, that runner must continue toward the base, or be called out.
As I interpret the scenario of running almost to second after a walk and then retreating back to first, I would have to call an out. It seems the "spirit" of the rule would have been violated is this case. The POE I feel gives the right to take second, but once committed, the runner can not return. A stop after rounding first by a step or two is not the same as a stop two steps from second.

I am the other half (actually 3/4 or more) of PollyWolly (above), and we have been beating this horse at home too! need more games to call! Actually, I have seen a retreat such as this, and it was done to draw a throw/start a run-down to allow runner from third to score. As I understand the LBR, this should not be allowed.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1