The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 164
Quote:
Orignially posted by WestMichBlue
R1 off 3B with the pitch; comes to a stop when batter does not swing. F2 steps out in front of plate and fakes throw towards 3B; R1 starts back to 3B.

Ball is returned to F1 in circle who turns and looks at R1. R1 stops and looks back at F1; then, within a second (or so) turns and continues back to 3B.

Would you allow that second stop? Or call R1 out?

WMB
I would think that since F1 didn't have the ball in the circle for the first stop of R1, that first stop wouldn't really be a stop. The second stop would be the first one in your situation, I think.

ASA Rule 8.7.T.1

The runner is out when a runner is legitmately off a base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing a turn at bat, and WHILE THE PITCHER HAS CONTROL OF THE BALL within an eight foot radius of the pitcher's plate, the runner may stop once, but then must immediately return to the base or attempt to advance to the next base.

ASA POE 33B says the same thing just simplified.

I would allow the stop. I know I'll be corrected if I'm wrong.

__________________
"If you want something that is fair in life, hit a ball between first and third base."
John Palko
Pittsburgh, PA
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1