The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2017, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 38
Runner misses a base, how many runs score?

I am not a softball guy, so bear with me.

Runners on 1st and 2nd, 2 out. The batter hits one in the right field corner and all 3 players end up coming all the way around. After all 3 have touched the plate, the defense appeals that the runner originally on 1st missed 2nd base and the runner is called out.

Obviously that runner's run does not count and she is the third out of the inning. The lead runner's run counts though, right? Appeals are timing plays, not forces, so as long as the runner scored before the appeal the run counts?

What about the BR? She scored before the appeal, but I seem to recall reading somewhere (maybe even on this board) that no succeeding runner can score if an appeal is the third out. Or maybe I'm just crazy and made that up.

I'm interested in answers from any and all codes.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do the Runs Score? rj Softball 9 Fri May 17, 2013 11:55am
Umpire runs into base runner Tex Softball 15 Tue Mar 12, 2013 01:28pm
How many runs score? MNBlue Softball 10 Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am
Runner misses base NC_Blue Softball 2 Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:06am
How Many Runs Score David M Baseball 3 Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:08am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1