The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 06, 2017, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
There is also a rule about if the player leaves the game due to injury and forces the team to go short handed, that player may not return to play.
This is not true for NFHS. From the case book:
3.3.8 SITUATION C:

B2 slides into home plate and rolls her ankle. She leaves the game in the fourth inning. The team has no legal substitutes. The team plays short-handed until the sixth inning when the player who was injured is now ready to come back into the game.

RULING: When B2 left the lineup and game, she had re-entry eligibility. She can re-enter the game. (3-3-8d)
3-3-8d says "Once a team has gone short-handed if an eligible player becomes available, that player may fill the empty space in the lineup.", so if the injured player is still eligible, she may re-enter.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
I don't have a book for either in front of me but both utrip and NF have a provision that allows a replacement runner in the case of injury.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
For NFHS, there is indeed a provision to allow a previous batter not on base to act as a temporary runner.

I'm not typing in the whole rule, but reference:

3-3-8 a:d

and

4-3-1g
Speaking NFHS.

We need to be careful here in this discussion. The OP's post was open-ended, "If a team has no more eligible substitutes available for re entry can one of them be used to replace and injured player?"

To the general question, the answer is "no", especially since the question is worded such that it could be inferred he was asking about using a player who is no longer an eligible substitute.

To the more narrow, specific situation, where an injured runner (not just a player in general) cannot continue, she can be replaced by the previous batter not on base (not the last out, and not a bench player who no longer has any re-entry rights) to complete her base running for that particular half inning only. After that, the team plays short-handed.
NFHS Rule 3 Section 3
ART. 8 . . . If a team is playing with 9 (F.P.), 10 (S.P. or F. P. if DP/FLEX is used), or 11 (S.P. if an EP is used) and there are no available substitutes when a runner advancing on an awarded base or after reaching base is unable to continue:

a. The previous batter not on base is allowed to replace that player as a temporary runner until she is put out, scores or the half-inning ends.

b. When the player who could not continue is scheduled to bat, an out shall be called.

c. When the half-inning ends and the team assumes a defensive position, refer to 4-3-1g.

d. Once a team has gone short-handed if an eligible player becomes available, that player may fill the empty space in the lineup.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Sat May 06, 2017 at 11:41am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subs The_Rookie Basketball 16 Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:33am
subs in? kstiles99 Basketball 17 Wed Sep 30, 2015 05:45am
Subs wbrown Basketball 5 Fri Jan 30, 2009 10:14am
subs? fan Softball 4 Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1