Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1
One related situation that happened to me when i was still coaching: Batting 9, my batter got drilled in the knee and was seriously hurt. I told Blue i needed to get her treated in the dugout and i would do a "dead-ball substitution" and put an eligible sub on 1st base. He agreed. Then the other coach complained that the injured girl never touched first base so the umpire called my girl out! (Dead Ball Substitute - ASA Rule 4.6.D)
|
When you said "batting 9" does that mean you only had 9 players in the game? Or did you have legal substitutes available?
If the former, under USA rule, you couldn't do that anyway. If the latter, that would be fine. The runner can come out of the dugout and proceed directly to first base and becomes a substitute for the injured player.