![]() |
|
|
|||
The NCAA rule for runner assistance violations only occur during a live ball. See rule 12.8.3.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
I do not do NCAA but I think the same rule applies USA and NHFS. Now in this case was the appeal legit? Does the ball have to be made live for an appeal in NCAA? |
|
|||
NFHS: It's not clear if assisting the runner could only be called during a live ball. Their rule says that a coach may not assist a runner "during playing action". Does that mean when the ball is live? Nothing in the their case book seems to address this point.
USA/ASA: Their rule states that the ball must be live to call assisting a runner. But...they also have a case play where a runner misses home plate, after on over the fence home run, and is pushed back toward the plate just before entering the dugout. The ruling is that this runner would be out. So, it's the lone exception to their rule. This sounds like one of those rules where the printed rule pretty much matches throughout multiple organizations, but they've issued interpretations that deviate away from each other, based on various "what if" and "maybe" scenarios. Kind of like with an intentionally dropped ball. The rules all agree that you can't intentionally drop the ball in certain situations. But I can think of at least four different ways that a "dropped ball" is defined by four different sanctioning bodies! |
|
|||
The USA book talks about a runner who misses home plate and is assisted back to the plate as out in a live ball situation. ( Section 7 Exception E)
Where is the rule about this being true during a dead ball? |
|
|||
Quote:
USA case play, last sentence. PLAY 8.7-12 R1 slides and misses home plate. The on-deck batter pushes R1 back toward home plate. RULING: The ball becomes dead when the on-deck batter assists R1 after scoring. R1 is ruled out and the run nullified. “Dead ball” runner assistance only occurs after a runner has scored. (8-7E EXCEPTION) |
|
|||
That's the case play I was remembering. But now...upon further review...I'm thinking that maybe it's not saying what I thought it said.
While that last sentence seems to suggest that you can have runner assistance when the ball is dead under a certain circumstance, the play itself happened during a live ball. My memory was that there is a case play with the miss of home coming during a dead ball. But I wasn't able to find that one so maybe it doesn't exist! |
|
|||
Quote:
I thought I had deleted the post but apparently it didnt. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate | splitveer | Softball | 4 | Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am |
Home run - missed the plate!! | STL_UMP | Baseball | 64 | Sun Jul 10, 2011 01:27am |
Missed Home Plate | official702 | Softball | 7 | Fri May 08, 2009 07:32am |
Missed Home Plate | Chess Ref | Softball | 20 | Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm |
Missed Home Plate | tibear | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm |