Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp
The rule does say the runner must be given the opportunity to complete their base running responsibilities prior to honoring the appeal, but it does not say the runner has until they enter the dugout. The umpire gave the runner plenty of time to correct their error, they were celebrating with their teammates walking toward the dugout. I would guess the umpire considered that sufficient time to have fixed the missed base and honored the appeal.
|
Not sure if you're trying to give a different description of the actual play that inspired the OP, but I agree that is a valid time to honor the appeal. I just don't agree that the moment she missed the plate is it.