The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 02, 2017, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 383
Dead Ball Appeal Situation
May 2, 2017
Situation: The batter hits an out-of-the-park home run but does not touch home plate. How
does the defense make an appeal without the ball?
Ruling: The runner can return and touch home plate as long as she has not entered the dugout.
By rule, a runner may not return to touch a missed base if she has touched the final base of her
award (see Rule 12.22.4.5) so the only base she can return to on an out-of-the-park home run is
home plate. If she has gone into the dugout she has left the field of play and cannot return to
touch the plate (Rule 12.22.5.1).
This is a dead ball appeal. The appeal cannot be made until the ball is put back in play (Rule
7.1.2.2.3). Handing the ball to the catcher and her throwing it to the pitcher does not “put the
ball back in play”. By rule, with the ball out of play, the defense cannot appeal a missed base
until the ball is put back in play, the defense is in position, the next batter summoned to the
batter’s box and the umpire indicates “Play Ball” (Rule 6.10.4).
A dead ball remains dead until an umpire indicates resumption of play (Rule 1.14).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 02, 2017, 06:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
So in other words, in NCAA if the ball goes out of play there is no such thing as a dead ball appeal for any infraction. The ball has to be put back into live play before any appeal can be made.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 02, 2017, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
So in other words, in NCAA if the ball goes out of play there is no such thing as a dead ball appeal for any infraction. The ball has to be put back into live play before any appeal can be made.
And furthermore to extrapolate the logic one does not have to run out a walk off HR?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 02, 2017, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
The coach in the white long sleeve shirt saw her miss the plate and was trying to get her attention to go back and touch it.
Before the home run hitter could enter the dugout she grabbed her and guided her back towards the plate.
Would that qualify for an out?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2017, 06:27am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
The coach in the white long sleeve shirt saw her miss the plate and was trying to get her attention to go back and touch it.
Before the home run hitter could enter the dugout she grabbed her and guided her back towards the plate.
Would that qualify for an out?
The NCAA rule for runner assistance violations only occur during a live ball. See rule 12.8.3.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2017, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
The NCAA rule for runner assistance violations only occur during a live ball. See rule 12.8.3.
That's right. Thanks.
I do not do NCAA but I think the same rule applies USA and NHFS.
Now in this case was the appeal legit?
Does the ball have to be made live for an appeal in NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2017, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
NFHS: It's not clear if assisting the runner could only be called during a live ball. Their rule says that a coach may not assist a runner "during playing action". Does that mean when the ball is live? Nothing in the their case book seems to address this point.

USA/ASA: Their rule states that the ball must be live to call assisting a runner. But...they also have a case play where a runner misses home plate, after on over the fence home run, and is pushed back toward the plate just before entering the dugout. The ruling is that this runner would be out. So, it's the lone exception to their rule.

This sounds like one of those rules where the printed rule pretty much matches throughout multiple organizations, but they've issued interpretations that deviate away from each other, based on various "what if" and "maybe" scenarios.

Kind of like with an intentionally dropped ball. The rules all agree that you can't intentionally drop the ball in certain situations. But I can think of at least four different ways that a "dropped ball" is defined by four different sanctioning bodies!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate splitveer Softball 4 Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am
Home run - missed the plate!! STL_UMP Baseball 64 Sun Jul 10, 2011 01:27am
Missed Home Plate official702 Softball 7 Fri May 08, 2009 07:32am
Missed Home Plate Chess Ref Softball 20 Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm
Missed Home Plate tibear Baseball 6 Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1