![]() |
|
|||
Here is the NCAA Approved Ruling on a similar situation that Richard mentioned above. I found it doing a Google search (not doing a cut/paste from the NCAA Central Hub), but the latest version is verbatim except for the rule reference of 12.22.5.5:
Quote:
1. The defense cannot legally perform a dead-ball appeal until the "ball is put back in play", so in this play, the dead ball appeal was prematurely allowed since the next batter wasn't summoned to the batter's box. 2. The runner is allowed to return and touch home, even after she sets up the conga line to do the post-game ritual. If that's the case in the AR, then I believe this particular runner can also return to touch home until the point where she enters the dugout and gives up her ability to return onto the field to fix her mistake. So I think the home run should have stood in this play. There was some discussion that a Bama coach or one of her teammates pushed the runner back to go touch the plate, which is another story. Absent that, however, I don't see why the runner should be disallowed to touch home if she remains on the field.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker Last edited by Manny A; Tue May 02, 2017 at 09:46am. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
appeal at home plate - runner missed touching the plate | splitveer | Softball | 4 | Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15am |
Home run - missed the plate!! | STL_UMP | Baseball | 64 | Sun Jul 10, 2011 01:27am |
Missed Home Plate | official702 | Softball | 7 | Fri May 08, 2009 07:32am |
Missed Home Plate | Chess Ref | Softball | 20 | Fri May 09, 2008 12:07pm |
Missed Home Plate | tibear | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 25, 2007 03:51pm |