The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2017, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 126
Can a popped bunt be considered an infield fly?

NFHS. I wasn't there. Just heard about this one that happened last night, so the details may not be exactly right. No outs. Runners on first and second. Batter squared to bunt and popped a bunt up between pitcher and 3rd that was not caught. Nobody was able to get a glove on the ball. Both runners advanced successfully. The batter was safe at 1st. After the play, the PU declared an infield fly and called the batter out. Can a popped bunt ever be considered an infield fly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2017, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,277
Bunt can never be an iff.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2017, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,098
And even if caught, or the runners are played on.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 22, 2017, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 126
Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,113
They are right-But, how do you know?

Why not look it up?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
They are right-But, how do you know?

Why not look it up?
How do I know what?

I looked it up before I posted the question. I just wanted to confirm with you guys in case there was some crazy exception. A friend of mine asked me to post the question here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
A bunt or line drive can never be an Infield Fly.
The PU should have known that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaincoach View Post
Nobody was able to get a glove on the ball.
Can you have an infield fly if nobody is near enough to catch it?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
Can you have an infield fly if nobody is near enough to catch it?
Well yeah considering I said it fell between the mound and 3rd base well within the infield. Definitely an area where an infielder should make the catch with reasonable effort. Definitely not a judgement call out in the grass.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is batter still considered in the box chuck chopper Softball 5 Mon Jun 09, 2014 08:26am
bunt and infield fly nelson_28602 Baseball 2 Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:41pm
Is this considered a travel? Ray_from_Mi Basketball 4 Sat Dec 16, 2006 09:04pm
Is it considered a dribble if ... ? bossref Basketball 1 Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:08am
Popped up sac fly? thenewguy04 Baseball 2 Mon Apr 19, 2004 01:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1