The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 12:32pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
what do you have NFHS rule set

Bases loaded and no outs. B4 is at the plate with a 2-2 count. The next pitch is called a ball. Thinking it's ball four, B4 starts toward first base. The base runners follow suit, touching their next respective base, including R1, who touches home. The entire time, the plate umpire is holding up the correct 3-2 count. The first base coach finally realizes the mistake and the batter returns to the plate. All runners follow suit, returning to their original bases. The Defense makes a play on R1 who had already scored.

What do you have??? and what rules or casebook play supports it.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 12:44pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,365
Once a run legally scores, it cannot be "unscored" by action of that runner who scored it (see Case Play 9.1.1 Situation B). So in your play, R1 scored legally, and cannot be subsequently put out. The defense should've played on one of the other two runners.

What should've happened: The PU should have LOUDLY called, "THAT'S BALL 3!" instead of just standing there with his fingers showing the count.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,424
Did the other runners violate by leaving bases they had legally stolen?


Sorry about the oxymoron.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 01:29pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Once a run legally scores, it cannot be "unscored" by action of that runner who scored it (see Case Play 9.1.1 Situation B). So in your play,R1 scored legally, and cannot be subsequently put out. The defense should've played on one of the other two runners.

What should've happened: The PU should have LOUDLY called, "THAT'S BALL 3!" instead of just standing there with his fingers showing the count.
Agreed she scored but then started back to third and the defense made a play on her. would you call interference on a retired runner?
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Did playing on that runner prevent them from making any other play?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 01:42pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
Agreed she scored but then started back to third and the defense made a play on her. would you call interference on a retired runner?
Only if you felt her actions prevented the defense from playing on someone else.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 02:00pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Only if you felt her actions prevented the defense from playing on someone else.
could have possibly made a play on R2 or R3 as they all are walking back to original base unaware that they could have legally stayed on the base.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 02:10pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
could have possibly made a play on R2 or R3 as they all are walking back to original base unaware that they could have legally stayed on the base.
I don't believe "could have possibly made" is enough. You have to judge that the retired runner did prevent the defense from making that play. For example, if it appeared that F2 was going to throw the ball toward second, and then she stopped and threw to third instead, then you could make that ruling.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 13, 2017, 04:37pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
could have possibly made a play on R2 or R3 as they all are walking back to original base unaware that they could have legally stayed on the base.
Yes, they could have CHOSEN to make a play on another runner. They did not. The scored runner did not prevent them from doing so.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 14, 2017, 03:09pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 322
Thanks for the responses was taught differently but will now take this aproach in the future. .
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2017, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Did the other runners violate by leaving bases they had legally stolen?


Sorry about the oxymoron.
The base runners follow suit, touching their next respective base, including R1, who touches home.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where are the NFHS rule changes? bballref3966 Basketball 118 Sun May 24, 2015 05:23pm
NFHS - Rule 5-1-2(a) Patton Football 18 Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:33am
NFHS - 0.3 sec rule? Stat-Man Basketball 10 Sat Dec 23, 2006 05:04pm
NFHS rule 7-5-5, 4-19-7... JohnBark Basketball 11 Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08am
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1