The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2017, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
What?!?!? Nothing in that rule about "making a throw"?

I'm really disappointed in the ESPN announcers quoting something "from the rule book" that is inaccurate......

I agree with BS....I see a big fat nothing on this play...
When the announcer quoted the rule about a throw being necessary, I am sure she was referring to (incorrectly) the batter/runner going to first. The first time I heard her I did not catch her saying "batter/runner".

I have difficulty with the no call. I thought it was clearly interference on the part of the runner. Matters not whether it was intentional (which it appeared not to be). I agree that strategy should not be considered. Now, did the fielder have a "reasonable chance to make a play"? Does she have a rocket arm or just average. Gwarsh, does it make a difference? It appears that, interference or no, she would have had difficulty throwing the ball with any zip. However, I still think interference should have been called.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2017, 02:27pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
I have difficulty with the no call. I thought it was clearly interference on the part of the runner. Matters not whether it was intentional (which it appeared not to be). I agree that strategy should not be considered. Now, did the fielder have a "reasonable chance to make a play"? Does she have a rocket arm or just average. Gwarsh, does it make a difference? It appears that, interference or no, she would have had difficulty throwing the ball with any zip. However, I still think interference should have been called.
Her arm makes no difference ... but the location of BR when this happened certainly does (and we cannot see that from the video, but I did look up who the player was and she's fast). Clearly the umpire (who had the whole play in front of them) saw where BR was when F6 fielded the ball and did not think there was a play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2017, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 699
The only play F6 had was at third after R2 stumbled, and she didn't even look in that direction. I'm going with "reasonable chance to make a play and was prevented from doing so." The only thing that prevented her from a play was that she didn't even look for the only play she had.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2017, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 733
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
The rule says prevents fielder from making a "play" Isn't fielding the ball, making a play? The rule doesn't say prevents fielder from getting an "out"
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2017, 07:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
the book says, "provided the fielder had a reasonable chance to make a
play and was prevented from doing so."

Goes on to say, "Note: If both players’ actions are appropriate to the situation and contact could not be avoided, it is inadvertent contact and neither interference nor obstruction."

Providing the B/R is as fast as it seems, I think both entries protect the runner in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by shipwreck View Post
The rule says prevents fielder from making a "play" Isn't fielding the ball, making a play? The rule doesn't say prevents fielder from getting an "out"
Dave
That is the rule; you are correct. I don't see where the runner interfered or hindered the fielder from making the play, e.g. fielding that high chopper. Good no-call, not so good game management dealing with the coach. Too many conferences and too many minutes debating a judgment call. Warn him and move on.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auburn vs Ole Miss Int or Obs. vcblue Softball 9 Mon Apr 26, 2010 01:22pm
Tenn/Auburn Adam Basketball 2 Sat Mar 14, 2009 03:54pm
LSU/Auburn DesertZebra Football 4 Sun Sep 21, 2008 02:02pm
Nebraska vs. Auburn shave-tail Football 2 Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:44am
Auburn-Georgia fumble largeone59 Football 5 Sun Nov 20, 2005 06:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1