![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
From your description the proper protest procedure was followed. Rule 7.2; NCAA. Only rules can be protested, not judgment. (Exception 7.2.3; protests may involve rules+judgment if a judgment call is made using a misapplied rule.) First the "offended" coach claims that the umpires have made a rule misinterpretation. Next, the coach must indicate which rule has been improperly applied. This is where the book comes out. Then the crew gets together with the book, at which time the OC and DC can provide input (<< I honestly don't understand this part, but whatever.) Finally, a ruling is communicated to both teams. EDIT TO ADD: If the offended team still doesn't like the result, they can continue play under protest provided they file a written report after the game. There is rule support for an INT out here. Again from the 14-15 book, because I am still lazy ![]()
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Sat Apr 01, 2017 at 10:36pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) | pfan1981 | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm |
State Playoffs - Call or No Call | Blindolbat | Basketball | 33 | Sun Mar 10, 2013 08:19am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |