The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
When a coach announces to us that he is sending in a courtesy runner, and that CR for one reason or another cannot legally enter, do we allow the CR and then assess penalties, or do we tell the coach he cannot enter that CR?
I will tell the coach if a player he wants to enter as a courtesy runner cannot legally be the CR. No violation has occurred yet, and I should not enter on the lineup card a player who is not legally entitled to that position.

That is different, though, from prompting the BR / coach that players need to touch the bases.

It is true that by rule the BR cannot be declared out for merely entering the dugout during a dead ball, in the situation described that is not what she is doing. She is failing to touch awarded bases in legal order (Rule 8-3I). This becomes clear once the CR goes to the base. Up until that time, the BR may still come out of the dugout and touch 1st.

I see the preventative umpiring point, I'm struggling with the idea of the umpire reminding players and coaches that they need to touch the bases.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1