The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2003, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump


Here is a play that we had in the state championship last year. I think I mentioned it on here once before.

Batter (who is the pitcher for her team) gets hit by pitch. She is hurt but not badly. Walks it off for a while and heads to the dugout as the courtesy runner comes in for her. Courtesy runner goes to first as batter goes to dugout, having never touched first. PU rings up the batter.

At the time of the pitch there was a girl on first. She was now at second. I sent her back to first. That received a bigger argument than the out on the batter for not going to first.
Speaking ASA

Actually, I would have no problem with the PU's ruling. I understand the contradiction, but this error can run both ways. Unless physically unable to advance, awarded bases must be touched by those to whom the base was awarded.

And I would have a problem with returning the runner to 1B since the awarded base is not recinded and she was indeed forced to move up.

JMHO,
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1