The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2003, 06:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
or on a hit batter (F.P.) the ball is dead, the batter-runner is not out and runners cannot advance unless forced.

I took this to mean that, for example, runners stealing on the pitch had to return unless the batter's award of 1B forced them to the next base.

But I don't understand why they would say "unless forced since no one can be forced if the batter-runner is out.

Because the rule states clearly that the batter-runner is not out.

And what was your partner's justification for ringing up the girl who was hit by a pitch and then replaced before she got to 1B? The ball is dead, and the runner can enter DBT without being out. Where does it say she must touch 1B before being replaced?

On a walk, where the ball remains live, the BR must go to 1B before being replaced, but I think a hit batsman is a different story. Can't find a case book ruling, however.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1