The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 09:00am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Manny:

No where in the rule does it mention which way a runner must or should turn. You injected "turns to her right". Which way the runner turns to return to 1B has no bearing upon the rule and how it is applied. What is important with regard to the rule is after the runner has acquired 1B did she make an attempt to advance to 2B. Far too many coaches think that the runner simply turning to her left to return to 1B is an attempt to advance to 2B.

MTD, Sr.
Mark, I get all that, trust me. But please refer to the OP, where he essentially asks if NFHS 8-7-4e applies not only to the look-back rule, but anytime. This is what he asked:

Quote:
NFHS Rule 8.7.4 e--Although this is listed under the "Look-Back Rule", I assume it would be correct in any instance of overrunning first base? If so, I have never seen this rule enforced. Wonder if anyone else has? Or am I incorrect and this applies only when the pitcher has the ball in the circle?
From the book:

Quote:
ART. 4 . . . Responsibilities of batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:
.
.
.
e. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right, is committed to first base and must return to first base.
He wanted to specifically know if the BR must return to first base after overrunning the bag and turning right, outside of the requirement under the look-back. That's why my response was limited to the right turn scenario.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 48
MANNY A, thanks for understanding the question and providing a good answer. When observing a player overrunning first base, I have not paid particular attention to whether or not the pitcher had the ball in the circle. Apparently, the only time the direction of the turn comes into play is under the "Look-Back" rule. Having said that, I do understand (or hope I do) that a player who makes an attempt to go to 2nd base (even if it is a feint) under circumstances other then "Look-Back" is liable to be put out if tagged with the ball by a defensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
MANNY A, thanks for understanding the question and providing a good answer. When observing a player overrunning first base, I have not paid particular attention to whether or not the pitcher had the ball in the circle. Apparently, the only time the direction of the turn comes into play is under the "Look-Back" rule. Having said that, I do understand (or hope I do) that a player who makes an attempt to go to 2nd base (even if it is a feint) under circumstances other then "Look-Back" is liable to be put out if tagged with the ball by a defensive player.
You're putting far too much emphasis on the direction the runner turns. It's irrelevant. The only reason it's included in the description of this play is to make it clear the runner is returning to first and not making a play for 2nd. But direction doesn't matter and this case play would be the same if they turned left but proceeded directly toward 1st.

And NONE of this is relevant at all if LBR is not in play... so no one is ignoring this rule when LBR is not effect --- the rule is not in play if LBR is not in effect.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 03:52pm
Call it as I see it.
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: So.Cal
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You're putting far too much emphasis on the direction the runner turns. It's irrelevant. The only reason it's included in the description of this play is to make it clear the runner is returning to first and not making a play for 2nd. But direction doesn't matter and this case play would be the same if they turned left but proceeded directly toward 1st.

And NONE of this is relevant at all if LBR is not in play... so no one is ignoring this rule when LBR is not effect --- the rule is not in play if LBR is not in effect.
Mike I agree with Manny a specific rule was referenced and that rule only applies to the look back rule. If the batter/Runner over runs 1st base they have 2 options to return to 1st base one could possibly result in an out of course..

The first is turn right if they do this they are committed to return to first base unless the pitcher makes a play on any runner or laves the pitchers circle

The second is to turn to their left. If they choose to turn to the left with out attempting to go to 2nd base they may return to 1st base without liability to be put out. (we all know this would require the umpire to judge their was no attempt and could be a risky return)
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 16, 2017, 01:12pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
MANNY A, thanks for understanding the question and providing a good answer. When observing a player overrunning first base, I have not paid particular attention to whether or not the pitcher had the ball in the circle.
Remember that all the examples cited in 8-7-4 are in effect only when the BR overruns first base and then turns AFTER the pitcher has the ball in the circle. Typically when the ball goes back to the circle, the BR has already turned around and is almost back to the bag. And besides that, I honestly cannot recall the last time I've ever seen a BR do anything but turn around and head back to first. But just in case, the BU has to watch for when the ball is in the circle, and then look to see what the BR is doing.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overrunning 1B mrm21711 Baseball 16 Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:52pm
Overrunning First Base Southside Baseball 2 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:41am
Overrunning 1B - Obstruction IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:07am
Overrunning 1st base CecilOne Softball 16 Wed Apr 09, 2003 09:08pm
ISF / Overrunning 1st Base mach3 Softball 12 Sat Jan 18, 2003 12:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1