The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 02, 2017, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Provo, UT
Posts: 176
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
Courtesy Runner

NF

Lets say #30 gets establish as the CR for the catcher(F2).

In the bottom of the 4th, the coach subs #15 for the catcher(F2). #15 hits a double, can the coach now CR #30 for #15?
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 02, 2017, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
I am assuming the sub was to pinch hit for the catcher. If that is the case, no, the sub is not entitled to a courtesy runner as they were not the last person to physically play the position. The pitcher and catcher must bat for themselves in order to be eligible for a courtesy runner.

The only time a pitcher and catcher can have a courtesy runner without having physically played the position is the visiting team in the top half of the first inning, and then they are the players designated to play those positions on the lineup card. If they do use a courtesy runner, then they must face at least the first batter for one pitch in the bottom half of the first inning.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
The only time a pitcher and catcher can have a courtesy runner ...
What about ITB?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
What about ITB?
What about, another inning or two in the same game using the TBR?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Mon Mar 06, 2017 at 11:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
What about another inning or two in the same game using the TBR?
I thank you. We all have personal peeves; one of mine is renaming any rules set Tie Breaker Rule as ITB, which actually is only accurate when playing in International competition. For most rules sets, the rule is identical to the international rule (although many misstate it), but that doesn't make anything more than that rules set Tie Breaker Rule.

As to the question related to tie breaker innings, the earlier statements still apply. The pitcher and catcher of record at the end of the prior half inning are eligible for a courtesy runner; even when they "earn" their way on base by virtue of being the last batter scheduled in this inning.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I thank you. We all have personal peeves; one of mine is renaming any rules set Tie Breaker Rule as ITB, which actually is only accurate when playing in International competition. For most rules sets, the rule is identical to the international rule (although many misstate it), but that doesn't make anything more than that rules set Tie Breaker Rule.
Perhaps now would be a good time to reopen the ground rule double debate?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 02, 2017, 07:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra View Post
NF

Lets say #30 gets establish as the CR for the catcher(F2).

In the bottom of the 4th, the coach subs #15 for the catcher(F2). #15 hits a double, can the coach now CR #30 for #15?
If it was as a pinch hitter, see above.

If not, and #15 played the position, then yes the same #30 can be her CR.

.................................................. .............
Added by edit:

Also, if the original catcher pitches, the same #30 may not be her CR.

CR is about position, not player.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.

Last edited by CecilOne; Fri Mar 03, 2017 at 11:26am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Courtesy runner; unreported sub runner Tru_in_Blu Softball 4 Fri Jan 09, 2015 05:49pm
ASA Courtesy Runner Forest Ump Softball 3 Fri May 09, 2008 11:55pm
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Courtesy Runner in ITB CecilOne Softball 16 Mon Jun 26, 2006 09:09pm
Courtesy runner benbret Softball 12 Thu May 11, 2006 12:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1