The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Except according to a recent USA case play or clarification it is still a pitched ball until it is controlled by the catcher.

Not too long ago there was a play presented about a pitched ball that gets away from the catcher and knocked up the baseline. As the catcher is attempting to retrieve it, they knock the ball into the dugout. According to the ruling it is not treated the same as a thrown ball, it is still a pitched ball and would only be a 1 base award from the time of the pitch.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
February ASA Rules Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 18 Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:34pm
ASA Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sun Jul 05, 2009 05:43pm
ASA Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 5 Fri Jul 06, 2007 03:40pm
Some Clarifications PYRef Basketball 10 Mon Nov 27, 2006 11:18am
New Fed "Clarifications" mick Basketball 56 Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1