![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
And, like Steve, that is my opinion and I don't see a clear rule cite that contradicts.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
The way I learned about INT was that if called, the ball was immediately dead, and SOMEBODY was going to be out.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
The nfhs rule does not mention making "an out". Only mention is of an obvious play.
In this play, my goof was not calling ball dead when it hit on deck batter, regardless of an obvious play (runner closest to home would be out) or not (runners return), ball should have been declared dead. It was a good learning experience and one I'll not miss again. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The OP scenario throws in a surprise when we learn that "another runner" scores. So presumably, there were more runners on base than just on third. Unless the runner on third was a turtle, the throw to home (relayed from an outfielder) was not intended for that runner. Although I don't think ASA is a specific as NFHS, 3-6-6 states: Only the batter, runner(s), on-deck batter, coaches in the coach's box, bat/ball shaggers or one of the nine players on defense are permitted to be outside the designated dugout/bench or designated warm-up areas. To me, that indicates that an ODB is indeed "engaged in the game". And I'll second the opinions that if a thrown ball had hit a coach who was directing his base runners, that would be no more of an INT call than a ball who has hit (or deflected into) the ODB. For me it would have to go back to the interpretation of having committed an act of interference. Simply standing there is typically not that. Now, occasionally, I'll have an ODB run out into fair territory to retrieve a discarded bat. That's a little different if s/he suddenly is in the way of a throw. THAT would likely be an INT call. PS: I expect to hear about ball shaggers a la Dusty Baker's kid who found himself in the middle of a play. I think he ended up being scooped up by a player who was scoring. Mark Grace?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Wed Aug 24, 2016 at 01:38pm. Reason: post scritp |
|
|||
|
Interesting to hear all the opinions on this. In the game, I told the defensive coach I saw it hit odb but it didn't affect anything do it was a play on. I am glad some agree that was a correct call. Not that it matters but coach just said, okay, just asking if you saw it hit her".
I've not checked the case book and its in my car right now. Will try to check it as well. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) | pfan1981 | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm |
| State Playoffs - Call or No Call | Blindolbat | Basketball | 33 | Sun Mar 10, 2013 08:19am |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |