The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 07:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
First time in 16 years...

… I've ever made this call. Please let me know if you consider it ticky-tack BS (as the OC did). R1 on 3B, tagging up on a fly ball. Positioned behind the bag, and as she's timing the catch she rocks back & comes completely off the bag (4-5 inches, no more). "OUT!"

This is PONY, covered under 9.8.w (looked it up after the game). I'm guessing there's an ASA equivalent, intended to prevent a running start.

Again, never saw it happen before, prob because I don't think I ever had a girl set up behind the bag before...

Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Jun 06, 2016 at 07:12am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
i've ever made this call. Please let me know if you consider it ticky-tack bs (as the oc did). R1 on 3b, tagging up on a fly ball. Positioned behind the bag, and as she's timing the catch she rocks back & comes completely off the bag (4-5 inches, no more). "out!"

this is pony, covered under 9.8.w (looked it up after the game). I'm guessing there's an asa equivalent, intended to prevent a running start.

Again, never saw it happen before, prob because i don't think i ever had a girl set up behind the bag before...
asa 8.7.v
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Sounds good to me!
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,150
8-20 in nfhs
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by sniperbbb View Post
8-20 in nfhs
8-6-20
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 773
Ticky-tack? Yes, possibly. The correct call? Also, yes.

IMO: The game revolves around "ticky-tack" calls of a few inches, whether on the plate or the bases. To borrow one of Andy's phrases, don't go looking to pick boogers, but we have to enforce the rules. Taking a position off the base and behind it on a fly-ball tag-up is an out.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 06, 2016, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,150
If you dont want to get called for stuff, dont make it obvious. Thats one of the things that is quite obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2016, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
One of the amusing side-complaints I heard was, "How did he possibly see that?"

Well, for one thing, my attention was on that foot, for the tag-up.

All I needed was a DC (who knew the rule) take me to task for not calling it. Not gonna leave myself open to that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2016, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 259
I agree with being ready to make the call - However, in ASA is it an umpire call?

I only do NSA and it must be appealed (like leaving early.)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2016, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
no appeal, runner is out.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2016, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I agree with being ready to make the call - However, in ASA is it an umpire call?
Yes... calling players out when they are out is an umpire call.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2016, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
FWIW, I made the out call as soon as she lifted her foot back... the ball was still coming down.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2016, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I agree with being ready to make the call - However, in ASA is it an umpire call?

I only do NSA and it must be appealed (like leaving early.)
Just for giggles, please check the NSA rule book (I don't have one, don't do that association); is it defined as one of the designated "appeals" in the rule book, does it say that in this specific rule (rather than being added as an additional appeal); or were you simply told to treat it that way?

I only ask, not to doubt you (I don't know you); it seems like a stupid cause to create a major rules adjustment to the defined "appeals".
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2016, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
FWIW, I made the out call as soon as she lifted her foot back... the ball was still coming down.
Honestly (not that it mattered), but if you did that, I believe you were premature. Things could have happened after that instant that would render the offense no longer an offense. (Most significantly, the runner not going home)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2016, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Honestly (not that it mattered), but if you did that, I believe you were premature. Things could have happened after that instant that would render the offense no longer an offense. (Most significantly, the runner not going home)
Or, being back on the base before the catch/touch???
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have never seen this in 45 years DET @ SEA jwwashburn Baseball 22 Wed May 09, 2012 09:48pm
First Ever in 30 years wisref2 Football 5 Sun Sep 04, 2011 08:40am
20 years! Adam Basketball 16 Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:47pm
one in four years Nevadaref Basketball 62 Sat Jul 05, 2003 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1