The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Asa requires the fielder to demonstrate control of the ball throughout the tag. Simply having control when the tag is initially applied is not an out if the fielder does not keep control of the ball.

Now, if the runner intentionally grabbed the glove causing the ball to come out that is a different story.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Asa requires the fielder to demonstrate control of the ball throughout the tag. Simply having control when the tag is initially applied is not an out if the fielder does not keep control of the ball.

Now, if the runner intentionally grabbed the glove causing the ball to come out that is a different story.
When does "throughout the tag" end? If she had ball securely before and after taking the runner on the mid torso, then after the tag has come off the runners torso contact by the runner hand causes the ball to come out I still have a tag and an out. Maybe INT by retired runner if there was another play to be made which R1 took away.

But I agree if cannot determine that F2 controlled the ball throughout the tag and the action of F2 tugging at the glove is what caused control to be lossed then the tag is no good but the runner has interfered prior to scoring so dead ball she is out return other runners to last base reached time of interference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
The clarification does not define what through the tag is, but if the fielder still has the glove on the runner I would say they are still in the process of applying the tag. Until they pull the ball away demonstrating control of the ball, they have not completed the process of the tag.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 07:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Asa requires the fielder to demonstrate control of the ball throughout the tag. Simply having control when the tag is initially applied is not an out if the fielder does not keep control of the ball.
Citation please
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Citation please
July 2013 Plays and Clarifications.
PLAY: No outs, bases empty. B1 hits a ball to the LC field fence. In trying to stretch the play into a triple, B1 gets caught in a run down between second and third base. During the rundown F6 dives and tags B1 on the back. F6 falls to the ground and the ball pops out of F6’s glove. The umpire rules B1 out.

RULING: B1 is out since F6 had control of the ball and completed the tag before hitting the ground and losing possession of the ball. F6 is only required to have control of the ball through the tag process to have an out. Rule 1 Tag, Rule 8, Section 7B
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
2007 ASA case play 1-78

B1 hits a ground ball to F3 who gathers in the ball, runs over the the 1st baseline, tags B1 then juggles the ball and drops it.

Ruling, Because F3 did not securely hold the ball, B1 is safe.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
2007 ASA case play 1-78

B1 hits a ground ball to F3 who gathers in the ball, runs over the the 1st baseline, tags B1 then juggles the ball and drops it.

Ruling, Because F3 did not securely hold the ball, B1 is safe.
Not applicable, different play, scenario and rule
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
How is 8-8-g not applicable? The runner is not out when off a base and touched with a ball not securely held by the fielder.

And as for the clarification, the rule cite in it is the same for rule 1 tag, but the actual rule they cite is for the out call based on the ball coming out after falling to the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I can see how that may be confusing. Define "tag process".

There is no "process", the "tag" is the touching of the runner or batter-runner with the ball while securely held in the hand or glove.

There is no requirement, by rule or definition to maintain subsequent control for any period of time once the tag is executed.

If the ball is lost at the time of the tag, obviously the ball was not securely held. If lost after the time of the tag, the runner or batter-runner is out.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner must slide rule chapmaja Softball 15 Mon May 13, 2013 03:10am
Catcher's Mitt vs. Fielder's Glove tankmjg24 Baseball 21 Fri May 04, 2012 11:58pm
Runner interference with no slide rafking Softball 5 Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:57pm
Batter Hits Catcher's Glove manhong Baseball 11 Wed May 07, 2003 08:45am
Bat hits Ball then Catcher's Glove Hotshot Baseball 8 Mon May 13, 2002 10:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1