![]() |
|
|
|||
From what I saw, the runner held on to the glove and pulled it with her as she slid past.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
Quote:
EDIT: Wait... I'm not sure I understand the timing of all of this. Was the tag applied before she scored, so she was out on the tag and then she interfered and caused the ball to come out and then she touched home?
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Mon May 02, 2016 at 01:20pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
EDIT to add: I really wish I had a video of the play to share, as just writing/talking about this play does not do justice to the speed of the game.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Mon May 02, 2016 at 02:40pm. |
|
|||
As described, sounds like could judge F2 had control of ball in glove and made a proper legal tag on R1s torso prior to R1 touching home. R1 out.
Now R1 continues sliding by and F2s glove comes off R1s torso and R1 grabs F2s glove briefly causing the ball to come out. Not going to negate the out if judged that F2 already had control when applying the tag. Next decision is did the action of retired R1 interfere with defense making another play? Only then can you get another out on this IMO. |
|
|||
Asa requires the fielder to demonstrate control of the ball throughout the tag. Simply having control when the tag is initially applied is not an out if the fielder does not keep control of the ball.
Now, if the runner intentionally grabbed the glove causing the ball to come out that is a different story. |
|
|||
Quote:
But I agree if cannot determine that F2 controlled the ball throughout the tag and the action of F2 tugging at the glove is what caused control to be lossed then the tag is no good but the runner has interfered prior to scoring so dead ball she is out return other runners to last base reached time of interference. |
|
|||
Citation please
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Interference, the runner was already retired, so the interference by a retired runner rules would apply.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner must slide rule | chapmaja | Softball | 15 | Mon May 13, 2013 03:10am |
Catcher's Mitt vs. Fielder's Glove | tankmjg24 | Baseball | 21 | Fri May 04, 2012 11:58pm |
Runner interference with no slide | rafking | Softball | 5 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:57pm |
Batter Hits Catcher's Glove | manhong | Baseball | 11 | Wed May 07, 2003 08:45am |
Bat hits Ball then Catcher's Glove | Hotshot | Baseball | 8 | Mon May 13, 2002 10:58pm |