The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Runner pulls on catcher's glove during slide

Situation: R1 on 2B. Batter-runner hits a single to centerfield. R1 rounds 3B and comes home. The throw to F2 is in plenty of time. F2 establishes a legal position in possession of the ball in the baseline between HP and 3B, inside the RH batter's box. R1 slides to the foul side of the baseline, feet first. The tag is made on the torso, but as F2 raises the glove off of R1's body, R1's arms contact the glove. R1 pulls on the glove as her momentum carries her past F2, where she touches HP. The ball comes out. BR advances to 2B when she sees the dropped ball.

What's the correct call? Who, if anyone, is out? Does the ball remain live?

Ruleset: NCAA and/or ASA
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Did the runner physically grab the glove and pull on it, or was it just part of the slide with the catchers glove getting tangled up in the runners arms and the ball coming out?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Did the runner physically grab the glove and pull on it, or was it just part of the slide with the catchers glove getting tangled up in the runners arms and the ball coming out?
From what I saw, the runner held on to the glove and pulled it with her as she slid past.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
From what I saw, the runner held on to the glove and pulled it with her as she slid past.
Then that is an act of interference. Did the interference happen after she scored?

EDIT: Wait... I'm not sure I understand the timing of all of this. Was the tag applied before she scored, so she was out on the tag and then she interfered and caused the ball to come out and then she touched home?
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Mon May 02, 2016 at 01:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Was the tag applied before she scored, so she was out on the tag and then she interfered and caused the ball to come out and then she touched home?
This is the correct order of events as I saw it. This all happens in the half-second it takes to slide home. The pull on the glove was short, reminiscent of an infamous Alex Rodriguez play some years back.
EDIT to add: I really wish I had a video of the play to share, as just writing/talking about this play does not do justice to the speed of the game.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Mon May 02, 2016 at 02:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Looks like runner closest to home is out as well...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
From what I saw, the runner held on to the glove and pulled it with her as she slid past.
Interference, the runner was already retired, so the interference by a retired runner rules would apply.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 12:55pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
One of those times you must judge intent.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 02, 2016, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Situation: R1 on 2B. Batter-runner hits a single to centerfield. R1 rounds 3B and comes home. The throw to F2 is in plenty of time. F2 establishes a legal position in possession of the ball in the baseline between HP and 3B, inside the RH batter's box. R1 slides to the foul side of the baseline, feet first. The tag is made on the torso,
R1 is out at this point. Any subsequent action is irrelevant to this player's status.

Quote:
but as F2 raises the glove off of R1's body, R1's arms contact the glove. R1 pulls on the glove as her momentum carries her past F2, where she touches HP. The ball comes out. BR advances to 2B when she sees the dropped ball.
Based on the assumption there is a possible play since R2 is attempting to advance, INT on a retired player, runner closest to home is out
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2016, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
.....The ball comes out. BR advances to 2B when she sees the dropped ball.....
The question here for me is how to handle the runner that is active and advancing. I agree that the runner that was tagged is out. If the the other runner only attempted to advance after the ball was on the ground, do we really have interference? The way I am reading the scenario and visualizing the play, that it what I am seeing.

I think that I just kill the play and return the runner to the last base touched.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2016, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
The question here for me is how to handle the runner that is active and advancing. I agree that the runner that was tagged is out. If the the other runner only attempted to advance after the ball was on the ground, do we really have interference? The way I am reading the scenario and visualizing the play, that it what I am seeing.

I think that I just kill the play and return the runner to the last base touched.
This is what we did. We ruled that the runner was guilty of INT, but was not yet a retired runner. She interfered during an active play on herself.

After the fact, I was not able to find a rule reference in the NCAA book that I liked for my own rule support. So I posted here.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2016, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
This is what we did. We ruled that the runner was guilty of INT, but was not yet a retired runner. She interfered during an active play on herself.

After the fact, I was not able to find a rule reference in the NCAA book that I liked for my own rule support. So I posted here.
Based on your previous posts, I'm having a hard time understanding how she had not been retired yet? From the description provided, I see a tag applied to the torso, then as the tag was being lifted off the torso, the arm grabs the glove and pulls the glove. The out was recorded as soon as she was tagged with the glove holding the ball.

I guess the bang-bang nature of the play can be used as a way to say she wasn't retired.

I think what is more important in that discussion is the nature of the actions by the batter-runner. Since it appears from your post she did not attempt to advance until the ball came loose as a result of the interference, there is no play to be made on he advancement, since the advancement didn't begin until the interference which kills the play.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 04, 2016, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
The question here for me is how to handle the runner that is active and advancing. I agree that the runner that was tagged is out. If the the other runner only attempted to advance after the ball was on the ground, do we really have interference? The way I am reading the scenario and visualizing the play, that it what I am seeing.

I think that I just kill the play and return the runner to the last base touched.
Gotta ask. What is the premise allowing you to kill the ball?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 05, 2016, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Gotta ask. What is the premise allowing you to kill the ball?
Well....I'm not calling interference, since there was no play being interfered with. I'm also not letting the base runner advance due to the ball being on the ground because of the retired runners intentional action of pulling the glove off of the catcher.

I think I could invoke the "umpires may rule on anything not specifically covered in these rules" (15.2) clause here.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 05, 2016, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Well....I'm not calling interference, since there was no play being interfered with. I'm also not letting the base runner advance due to the ball being on the ground because of the retired runners intentional action of pulling the glove off of the catcher.

I think I could invoke the "umpires may rule on anything not specifically covered in these rules" (15.2) clause here.....
The problem is if you are not ruling interference, you have to call the runner safe at home. The ball was not controlled in the tag because the glove was ripped off during the action of the tag.

In my opinion, kill the play, rule the runner out for interference. This also prevents the runner at first from advancing to second.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner must slide rule chapmaja Softball 15 Mon May 13, 2013 03:10am
Catcher's Mitt vs. Fielder's Glove tankmjg24 Baseball 21 Fri May 04, 2012 11:58pm
Runner interference with no slide rafking Softball 5 Thu Apr 29, 2004 12:57pm
Batter Hits Catcher's Glove manhong Baseball 11 Wed May 07, 2003 08:45am
Bat hits Ball then Catcher's Glove Hotshot Baseball 8 Mon May 13, 2002 10:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1