The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
NFHS Catch

A line drive is hit to the pitcher. The ball lodges in the pitcher's glove but the force of the line drive tears the glove from the pitchers's hand. The glove, with the ball still inside, lands on the ground.

Catch or not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Did the pitcher control the ball with properly attached equipment before it hit the ground?

Your answer is no, it is not a catch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 03:37pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
I would also say no given the description. She did not maintain control of ball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutsro View Post
A line drive is hit to the pitcher. The ball lodges in the pitcher's glove but the force of the line drive tears the glove from the pitchers's hand. The glove, with the ball still inside, lands on the ground.

Catch or not?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,382
Or is it not yet?

Has the ball hit the ground? If not can the fielder retrieve the ball inside the glove by picking up the glove? Does that make it a catch yet or would she need to throw the ball to first base to retire the BR?

She did not throw her glove at the ball, so there is no penalty there.

Another related situation. Batter hits a popup near home plate - not very high. F2 searching for the ball removes her helmet and the ball falls into it. F2 did not move her helmet towards the ball, the ball just landed there. (Hey, if there are case studies that think a thrown ball can end up in the umpire's ball bag, this is just as ludicrous, er, possible.) She then reaches into the helmet to retrieve the ball. Is THAT at catch? Or ruled fair or foul depending on the location of the ball when it landed? Or a DDB?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Or is it not yet?

Has the ball hit the ground? If not can the fielder retrieve the ball inside the glove by picking up the glove? Does that make it a catch yet or would she need to throw the ball to first base to retire the BR?

She did not throw her glove at the ball, so there is no penalty there.

Another related situation. Batter hits a popup near home plate - not very high. F2 searching for the ball removes her helmet and the ball falls into it. F2 did not move her helmet towards the ball, the ball just landed there. (Hey, if there are case studies that think a thrown ball can end up in the umpire's ball bag, this is just as ludicrous, er, possible.) She then reaches into the helmet to retrieve the ball. Is THAT at catch? Or ruled fair or foul depending on the location of the ball when it landed? Or a DDB?
Legally discarded equipment (catchers's mask, catcher's helmet, batter's bat) laying on the ground is treated as part of the ground. Start there with your "what-if" ludicrousness.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2016, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Legally discarded equipment (catchers's mask, catcher's helmet, batter's bat) laying on the ground is treated as part of the ground. Start there with your "what-if" ludicrousness.
F2 has not discarded her catcher's helmet, she was still holding it when the ball fell into it.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2016, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
F2 has not discarded her catcher's helmet, she was still holding it when the ball fell into it.
Then, see youngump above.

Either case, handling the ball with detached equipment.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Not
If she picks up the glove has she handled the ball with detached equipment?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS : Receiver Pushed OOB On the Catch Spence Football 1 Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:16pm
NFHS Fair Catch Rule a335336 Football 16 Sun Sep 06, 2009 04:38pm
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
NFHS Rule Question on Fair Catch Protection refdawg Football 7 Thu Aug 18, 2005 06:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1