The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I will not attempt to address commentary at NCAA Clinics; the one I attended had multiple misinterpretations. Nothing changes the existing rules if it doesn't come from the new Rules Interpreter, VVK. Our SUP and current rules committee member representing umpires stumbled multiple times.

From another board:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Originally Posted by BucksCoBlue
View Post
Just starting Junior College games this year, so please correct me if I'm wrong here...

Generally speaking, an obstructed runner cannot be called out between the the 2 bases in which she was obstructed.
But there are exceptions.
Leaving the base before a fly ball is first touched is one of those exceptions.
A runner who does this, and is then obstructed, is not automatically protected between those 2 bases.
If, in the umpire's judgement, she would not have made it back in time anyway (even had there been no obstruction), she will be called out.
However, if in the umpires judgement, the obstruction caused her to not return in time, she will not be called out.

All this NCAA ruling should be stating is, there is no automatic protection.
There has to be ordinary obstruction protection, or else nothing prevents the defense from completely blocking the runner in her attempt to return.
Reply from me:

Well stated. I have been waiting to see who would recognize the full effect of this ruling. The point is, as I have attempted to point out before, is that there are TWO inclusive (not EXCLUSIVE) forms of protection when obstruction occurs. #1 The obstructed runner cannot be out between the two bases where the obstruction(s) occur (with noted exclusions), AND #2 the runner cannot be out if she doesn't reach the base the umpire judges she would have reached if not obstructed (the only exceptions on this form is failing to touch a base in proper order or committing an act of interference). BOTH forms must be provided, even if one is no longer applicable.

You may note that no set of standard softball rules specify protecting only runners advancing in the second form (my order above); they say "reach the base". If the umpire judges the only reason a runner was unable to reach 2nd when returning after leaving early, then the runner is awarded second; even though not protected by form #1 due to the exception.

Not sure if it still exists, but ASA used to have a casebook play stating that being impeded or hindered while heading AWAY from a base left early was not obstruction for either form; HP reasoned that the defense was actually helping the runner from getting farther from the necessary return. But he was clear in conversation that hindering the return could be obstruction if judged it kept the runner from returning safely.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quoted from the BucksCo quote above:

"If, in the umpire's judgement, she would not have made it back in time anyway (even had there been no obstruction), she will be called out.
However, if in the umpires judgement, the obstruction caused her to not return in time, she will not be called out
."

Isn't that saying just that OBS is remedied by the umpire awarding the base the runner would have reached without the OBS?
IOW, the historic basic rule?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2016, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Quoted from the BucksCo quote above:

"If, in the umpire's judgement, she would not have made it back in time anyway (even had there been no obstruction), she will be called out.
However, if in the umpires judgement, the obstruction caused her to not return in time, she will not be called out
."

Isn't that saying just that OBS is remedied by the umpire awarding the base the runner would have reached without the OBS?
IOW, the historic basic rule?
Pretty much what has been stated by a few of us in different manner. IMO, people are reading an interpretation of a specific exception to a specificrule as it applies to a specific scenario which really hasn't changed how most umpires have percieved it to be for quite a while.

IOW, it is really nothing more than a clarification of an exception to the "between two bases" rule involving an obstructed runner.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Obstruction Rulesidiot Baseball 10 Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:28pm
Obstruction in NCAA? BlueTick48 Baseball 2 Mon Jun 01, 2009 07:44am
ncaa - obstruction newump Baseball 15 Thu Dec 13, 2007 03:59pm
NCAA and now FED Obstruction JJ Baseball 31 Sun Oct 28, 2007 07:21pm
NCAA Obstruction jicecone Baseball 5 Fri Jun 10, 2005 03:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1