![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
R1 is on 1B. A fly ball is hit to the outfield, and R1 leaves 1B before the ball is caught. R1 is obstructed by F4 en route to 2B. R1 realizes she has left early and returns towards 1B. The defense completes a live-ball appeal by throwing to F3 before R1 reaches 1B. NCAA: R1 is out. Full stop. ASA: If in the judgment of the umpire, R1 would have been out absent the obstruction, R1 is out. Else, R1 may be protected by OBS. -------- Edit to add: Is R1 still out if F3 commits the obstruction at 1B while about to receive the thrown ball? (NCAA)
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Obstruction | Rulesidiot | Baseball | 10 | Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:28pm |
Obstruction in NCAA? | BlueTick48 | Baseball | 2 | Mon Jun 01, 2009 07:44am |
ncaa - obstruction | newump | Baseball | 15 | Thu Dec 13, 2007 03:59pm |
NCAA and now FED Obstruction | JJ | Baseball | 31 | Sun Oct 28, 2007 07:21pm |
NCAA Obstruction | jicecone | Baseball | 5 | Fri Jun 10, 2005 03:14pm |