The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2003, 06:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra
"*Of course, it might be possible to concoct a crazy situation in which a runner runs the bases in reverse order and creates a force on himself."

The runner would be out for making a travesty of the game.

Bob
Not necessarily. A runner is out if the umpire believes they are running the bases in the reverse order to make a travesty of the game.

It is possible that a runner could begin retreating after touching a base to which they were forced. For example, bases loaded, one out. B5 hits a long fly to center and all runners go. As he is rounding 2B, R4 sees F8 dive for the ball and, believing it was caught (it wasn't), reverses his path, retouches 2B and heads back toward 1B. Even though R4 legally touched 2B, when the runner reverses his direction, the force is re-established when he passes the base to which he was originally forced.

You're not going to call the runner out for running the bases in the reverse order, but if the defense gets the ball back to 2B while R4 is still between 1B & 2B, he will be declared out on the force.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1